PDA

View Full Version : Chiefs Did anyone see the pass interference on the 5th down at the end of the game?


Programmer
09-07-2008, 02:00 PM
It was an obvious foul, but the Chiefs got 5 downs at the end of the game.

kstater
09-07-2008, 02:01 PM
Yeah, you're wrong on both counts.

Sully
09-07-2008, 02:01 PM
I don't believe it was PI, and it definitely wasn't 5 downs.

petegz28
09-07-2008, 02:02 PM
Yeah, you're wrong on both counts.

BS, reaching back and holding down a receivers arm is PI.

keg in kc
09-07-2008, 02:02 PM
Yeah, you're wrong on both counts.Programmer only has two modes: he's either saying something that's wrong, or he's not saying anything at all.

KcMizzou
09-07-2008, 02:02 PM
Yeah, you're wrong on both counts.Agreed.

There was a TO called before the fade route on 1st down. That play didn't count.

Valiant
09-07-2008, 02:02 PM
BS, reaching back and holding down a receivers arm is PI.

I think it was within 5yards when it happened..

petegz28
09-07-2008, 02:03 PM
I think it was within 5yards when it happened..

I'm talking about after the ball was in the air...the both turned to face the ball and the DB rached back and held Bowe's arm down

KevB
09-07-2008, 02:03 PM
It was PI, without question. O'Neal reaches back and completely holds Bowe's arm(s) down. There's no doubt about it. Oh well.

Bugeater
09-07-2008, 02:03 PM
Mecca says it's OK.

morphius
09-07-2008, 02:03 PM
The arm bar was illegal, there were only 4 downs.

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 02:05 PM
DEFINATELY PASS INTERFERENCE

WilliamTheIrish
09-07-2008, 02:08 PM
We had 3 other perfect chances to score. One of which was LJ getting stuffed u the middle.

Chiefshrink
09-07-2008, 02:08 PM
The arm bar was illegal, there were only 4 downs.

Agreed. Contact was legal however there was an illegal hold not viewed correctly by the ref or he was too chickensh** to make the call in Foxborough.:cuss:

'Hamas' Jenkins
09-07-2008, 02:09 PM
Quit bitching about the hold. It's not like we didn't have 4 plays to get it in.

penchief
09-07-2008, 02:09 PM
BS, reaching back and holding down a receivers arm is PI.

That's what I thought I saw.

petegz28
09-07-2008, 02:10 PM
We had 3 other perfect chances to score. One of which was LJ getting stuffed u the middle.

Agreed, and Bowe should of caught the damn ball!

Mr. Kotter
09-07-2008, 02:11 PM
First "play" of the goal-line series at the end didn't count; NE time-out.

The PI non-call was also correct.....O'Neal had position on the ball.

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 02:11 PM
who cares how many other chances there were he held bowe's arms down in the endzone that's pass interference

OnTheWarpath58
09-07-2008, 02:11 PM
Bowe wouldn't have caught the ball anyway, since Huard threw it 5 yards OOB...

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 02:12 PM
i've watched it 10 times and it sure looks as though it was catchable

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 02:13 PM
yeah again totally catchable

Mr. Kotter
09-07-2008, 02:13 PM
i've watched it 10 times and it sure looks as though it was catchable

ONeal had position though; the WR can't come-back through a defender who has position.

Chiefshrink
09-07-2008, 02:13 PM
First "play" of the goal-line series at the end didn't count; NE time-out.

The PI non-call was also correct.....O'Neal had position on the ball.

Position and contact within 5yds are one thing, but legit holding is PI Period!!!:cuss:

Chiefshrink
09-07-2008, 02:14 PM
I don't know if the Ref was out of position or not?

Mr. Kotter
09-07-2008, 02:15 PM
Position and contact within 5yds are one thing, but legit holding is PI Period!!!:cuss:


It's not holding. ONeal had position; Bowe can't simply push ONeal aside. Had he, it would have been offensive pass interference.

Hog Rider
09-07-2008, 02:15 PM
"He was givin' him da business."

Programmer
09-07-2008, 02:15 PM
Yeah, you're wrong on both counts.

Bowe, to incompletes in the end zone.

Gonzales one incomplete

LJ failed run

Bowe third incomplete with the defender holding his arms.

That's five and holding the arms before the ball gets there is pretty much the definition of pass interference.

Programmer
09-07-2008, 02:16 PM
I don't believe it was PI, and it definitely wasn't 5 downs.

find a tape and watch it again.

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 02:16 PM
ONeal had position though; the WR can't come-back through a defender who has position.

STILL HELD DOWN HIS ARMS THAT"S PI

Mr. Kotter
09-07-2008, 02:16 PM
...
That's five and holding the arms before the ball gets there is pretty much the definition of pass interference.


NOT when the DEFENDER has position it's not.

Programmer
09-07-2008, 02:16 PM
Programmer only has two modes: he's either saying something that's wrong, or he's not saying anything at all.

didn't watch the game did you?

Shag
09-07-2008, 02:16 PM
ONeal had position though; the WR can't come-back through a defender who has position.

Position is irrelevant if the DB makes an action to prevent the WR's right to the ball. The camera angle was bad, but it looked like O'Neal reached out with his left arm and prevented Bowe from extending his arms for the catch. If that's indeed what happened, it's PI.

Bowe wasn't trying to go through him, anyway...

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 02:17 PM
Bowe, to incompletes in the end zone.

Gonzales one incomplete

LJ failed run

Bowe third incomplete with the defender holding his arms.

That's five and holding the arms before the ball gets there is pretty much the definition of pass interference.

THEY CALLED TO BEFORE THE FIRST PLAY

Mr. Kotter
09-07-2008, 02:17 PM
STILL HELD DOWN HIS ARMS THAT"S PI

Go read the rule book. Listen to CBS's call; Dan Dierdorf explained it exactly right.

Mr. Laz
09-07-2008, 02:17 PM
2 fade passes to the left to bowe
1 running play
1 5 yard curl to tony
1 fade stop to the right to bowe

Programmer
09-07-2008, 02:17 PM
NOT when the DEFENDER has position it's not.

The defender was falling into Bowe, facing the QB, but you still cannot hold the receivers arms and he was not going for the ball.

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 02:18 PM
NOT when the DEFENDER has position it's not.

what position an armbar over the receiver's hands? watch it again he reaches out and holds his arms, the db was going towards the ball also and reaches back!

Programmer
09-07-2008, 02:19 PM
ONeal had position though; the WR can't come-back through a defender who has position.

That still does not change the fact that he was holding his arms.

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 02:19 PM
Go read the rule book. Listen to CBS's call; Dan Dierdorf explained it exactly right.

oh yeah cbs will talk down the pats. DID YOU WATCH THE GAME> THEY HAVE CBS ZONE RIGHT THERE

Sully
09-07-2008, 02:19 PM
find a tape and watch it again.

I've already watched it several times.

1) As people have said to you several times, the first play NEVER COUNTED. That makes your "5th down" call incorrect.

2) I think the PI complaint is people nitpicking about something that will not be called 99% of the time. Just like holding, there are some things that will never be called, depending on the game/situation/part of the field/obvious-ness. That type of "arm bar" happens on nearly every pass play.

mikeyis4dcats.
09-07-2008, 02:21 PM
it was within 5 yards of the LOS....

Bob Dole
09-07-2008, 02:21 PM
ONeal had position though; the WR can't come-back through a defender who has position.

The defender can't reach back and hold down his arm.

Mr. Kotter
09-07-2008, 02:21 PM
what position an armbar over the receiver's hands? watch it again he reaches out and holds his arms, the db was going towards the ball also and reaches back!

Defender had every right to the ball; he had better position. ONEAL was fighting for the ball at that point.

If Huard had not under-thrown the ball, it wouldn't have been an issue. It's Huard's fault. Period.

Mr. Kotter
09-07-2008, 02:23 PM
The defender can't reach back and hold down his arm.

If the CB is trying to make a catch, and has position....in coming back to the ball, the WR is now actually the "defender" and subject to the interference call.

Shag
09-07-2008, 02:23 PM
it was within 5 yards of the LOS....

Distance from the LOS is irrelevant once the ball is in the air...

Hydrae
09-07-2008, 02:24 PM
it was within 5 yards of the LOS....

LOS was the 5 yard line. By definition, the end zone is more than 5 yards from the LOS.

Guru
09-07-2008, 02:24 PM
No ref will make that call at the end of a game.

mikeyis4dcats.
09-07-2008, 02:25 PM
LOS was the 5 yard line. By definition, the end zone is more than 5 yards from the LOS.

I believe it was actually the 4, but I could be wrong.

grandllama
09-07-2008, 02:25 PM
Go read the rule book. Listen to CBS's call; Dan Dierdorf explained it exactly right.

I really don't get a rat's ass what mr. super spittlemouth had to say. ONeal had hold of Bowes arm. Was not going for the ball. If that was any other team in the NFL, especially the team of golden vaginas we were playing, that gets called.

Just like the nice little push off Mr. Moss got away with before becoming Mr. Butterfingers.

Smed1065
09-07-2008, 02:25 PM
Yeah, you're wrong in life.
And some want no abortions...

kcpasco
09-07-2008, 02:26 PM
No ref will make that call at the end of a game.

Not true, i've seen that call made many times

If I recall right, DJ got one a few years ago in the Dallas game.

Guru
09-07-2008, 02:26 PM
I really don't get a rat's ass what mr. super spittlemouth had to say. ONeal had hold of Bowes arm. Was not going for the ball. If that was any other team in the NFL, especially the team of golden vaginas we were playing, that gets called.

Just like the nice little push off Mr. Moss got away with before becoming Mr. Butterfingers.
You mean the same push off that TG gets called for a lot of the time?

Hydrae
09-07-2008, 02:26 PM
I believe it was actually the 4, but I could be wrong.

I am not in a position to watch the game, I am going off what it showed on NFL Game Center:

2-16-KC 27 (1:09) (No Huddle, Shotgun) 11-D.Huard pass deep right to 81-D.Darling to NE 5 for 68 yards (21-D.O'Neal) [37-R.Harrison].
Timeout #2 by KC at 00:53.
Timeout #2 by NE at 00:53.
1-5-NE 5 (:53) (Shotgun) 11-D.Huard pass incomplete short left to 82-D.Bowe.
Timeout #3 by NE at 00:50.
2-5-NE 5 (:50) 27-L.Johnson right guard to NE 5 for no gain (93-R.Seymour, 50-M.Vrabel).
Timeout #3 by KC at 00:46.
3-5-NE 5 (:46) (Shotgun) 11-D.Huard pass incomplete short left to 88-T.Gonzalez.
4-5-NE 5 (:40) (Shotgun) 11-D.Huard pass incomplete short right to 82-D.Bowe.

grandllama
09-07-2008, 02:27 PM
No ref will make that call at the end of a game.

I guranfarkingtee if it was the boys from NE going for the tie on fourth down it would have been called. God forbid the NFL let their golden goose lose their first game of the season

mikeyis4dcats.
09-07-2008, 02:28 PM
I am not in a position to watch the game, I am going off what it showed on NFL Game Center:

2-16-KC 27 (1:09) (No Huddle, Shotgun) 11-D.Huard pass deep right to 81-D.Darling to NE 5 for 68 yards (21-D.O'Neal) [37-R.Harrison].
Timeout #2 by KC at 00:53.
Timeout #2 by NE at 00:53.
1-5-NE 5 (:53) (Shotgun) 11-D.Huard pass incomplete short left to 82-D.Bowe.
Timeout #3 by NE at 00:50.
2-5-NE 5 (:50) 27-L.Johnson right guard to NE 5 for no gain (93-R.Seymour, 50-M.Vrabel).
Timeout #3 by KC at 00:46.
3-5-NE 5 (:46) (Shotgun) 11-D.Huard pass incomplete short left to 88-T.Gonzalez.
4-5-NE 5 (:40) (Shotgun) 11-D.Huard pass incomplete short right to 82-D.Bowe.

it looked more like the 4 to me on tv, but who knows.

ESPN also called it a poor pass that sailed right of the endzone, and that's not accurate either.

grandllama
09-07-2008, 02:29 PM
You mean the same push off that TG gets called for a lot of the time?

When was the last time you saw TG push a defender 10 yards down field and not get called? TG does it, hell everybody does it, but nobody does it as blatantly and gets away with it as often as that lazy ass POS named Moss.

Mr. Kotter
09-07-2008, 02:29 PM
You mean the same push off that TG gets called for a lot of the time?

Or that Bowe got on his TD. Yeah, sometimes they call it; sometimes they don't. Depends on their angle, and a whole lot of other factors.

Chiefshrink
09-07-2008, 02:29 PM
yeah again totally catchable

Disagree, the arm bar "holding" prevented him from extending his arms to catch it. He clearly reaches back and cups his hand around Bowe's elbow preventing his arm from extending. It was not catchable:shake:

MTG#10
09-07-2008, 02:29 PM
The Chiefs did not have 5 downs. The first fade to Bowe didnt count because the Pats called a time out just before the snap.

Bugeater
09-07-2008, 02:30 PM
oh yeah cbs will talk down the pats. DID YOU WATCH THE GAME> THEY HAVE CBS ZONE RIGHT THERE

I didn't hear about this "CBS Zone", please enlighten me. Also, can anyone tell me what the Pats' regular season record was last year? I didn't see any banners in the stadium that said what it was.

Sully
09-07-2008, 02:32 PM
I guranfarkingtee if it was the boys from NE going for the tie on fourth down it would have been called. God forbid the NFL let their golden goose lose their first game of the season

I'll say these two things...
1) If it is called so obviously in "other teams'" games, then it wouldn't make sense to actually coach players to do it.

2) Coaches actually coach players to do it.

Marcellus
09-07-2008, 02:33 PM
Clear case of PI if you watch the play again. Sorry it was PI.

Chiefshrink
09-07-2008, 02:37 PM
I've already watched it several times.

1) As people have said to you several times, the first play NEVER COUNTED. That makes your "5th down" call incorrect.

2) I think the PI complaint is people nitpicking about something that will not be called 99% of the time. Just like holding, there are some things that will never be called, depending on the game/situation/part of the field/obvious-ness. That type of "arm bar" happens on nearly every pass play.

Respectfully disagree about the arm bar every play. Once he felt Bowes arm you see him purposefully grab his elbow keeping it down. It was the Darling Team of the NFL at home as to why it wasn't called.:cuss:

'Hamas' Jenkins
09-07-2008, 02:44 PM
Chiefs fans will use anything to justify why they lost other than the fact that the team and coach sucks.

BigRock
09-07-2008, 02:46 PM
I haven't rewatched it to really pay attention, but the Boston media asked Belichick about it in his postgame. There's no way they bring it up if they aren't thinking they might have gotten away with something.

el borracho
09-07-2008, 02:57 PM
With the way Bowe was playing today we should have thrown it to Gonzalez four times in a row but, yeah, it looked like the CB committed a penalty on the last one.

Dave Lane
09-07-2008, 03:00 PM
Wrong on both counts incidental contact on the arm. When both are looking for the ball its totally legal.

Dave

Dave Lane
09-07-2008, 03:01 PM
Chiefs fans will use anything to justify why they lost other than the fact that the coach sucks.

Fixed your post.

Dave

Guru
09-07-2008, 03:01 PM
Chiefs fans will use anything to justify why they lost other than the fact that the team and coach sucks.
But, you are a Chiefs fan. heh

Guru
09-07-2008, 03:02 PM
Fixed your post.

Dave
better

BossOrphan
09-07-2008, 03:18 PM
Bitching about penalties is a sign of weakness. No ref makes that call on the last play of the game if he wants to keep his job.

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 03:39 PM
Disagree, the arm bar "holding" prevented him from extending his arms to catch it. He clearly reaches back and cups his hand around Bowe's elbow preventing his arm from extending. It was not catchable:shake:

THAT QUOTE WAS taKEN OUT OF CONTEXT what i was referring to was if the pass was catchable if no pi has occured

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 03:42 PM
I didn't hear about this "CBS Zone", please enlighten me. Also, can anyone tell me what the Pats' regular season record was last year? I didn't see any banners in the stadium that said what it was.

thes cbs zone is a restaurant and bar in the parking lot of the stadium, all cbs big wigs were there today and last night with the pats players

Guru
09-07-2008, 03:45 PM
It's CBS Scene.

JASONSAUTO
09-07-2008, 03:46 PM
ok so its the espnzone and cbs scene whats the diff?

triple
09-07-2008, 03:47 PM
in today's ticky-tack NFL, it could have been called, but it would have been a weak call.

Lzen
09-07-2008, 04:22 PM
It was a penalty. It should have been PI. Or, at the very least, illegal contact. Either way, it should have been 1st down for the Chiefs. Of course, if dipshit Huard had thrown a better pass, Bowe would have had a better shot and not have to rely on the ref to make a call.

And for anyone who still does not get it, the Chiefs did not get 5 downs. Dierdorf explained it if you had been listening to the CBS broadcast. NE called a time out right before the Chiefs snapped it on 1st down. Therefore, that down did not count. This place would have really melted down if we had scored a TD and then it not being counted due to the TO.

Jayhawkerman2001
09-07-2008, 04:32 PM
Quit bitching about the hold. It's not like we didn't have 4 plays to get it in.

4 ****ing plays and we didnt even gain a ****ing yard... Herm will never learn, no matter who we got at OC... He gets no slack from me this year at all.

And yes, that was a pass interference, and it was very blatant. He held his fooking arms down.

sedated
09-07-2008, 04:42 PM
if the roles were reversed and Flowers held Moss in the endzone, it would have been a flag no doubt.

but that's still no excuse - produce in 4 downs or go home with your head down.

Programmer
09-07-2008, 04:45 PM
Bitching about penalties is a sign of weakness. No ref makes that call on the last play of the game if he wants to keep his job.

Only if it's the pats.

Skip Towne
09-07-2008, 04:45 PM
We wouldn't have scored if they gave us 8 downs. Thanks, Herm.

KCJohnny
09-07-2008, 10:10 PM
who cares how many other chances there were he held bowe's arms down in the endzone that's pass interference

I just saw the replay for the first time. Bowe's arms are CLEARLY being held down before the ball arrives.

Blown call.