PDA

View Full Version : Chiefs Officiating Question from Chiefs-Raiders game


ChiefsFanatic
09-14-2008, 07:22 PM
If you have the game TiVo or DVR, maybe you can answer this.

I don't remember when it was, but one of the Raider players grabbed/pulled on Thigpen's facemask for a quick second. Even though it was brief, it still happened.

The official threw a flag, but then said there was no flag on the play because the facemask was "incidental?"

Is that what the official said?

And, how could it not be a flag of some kind? Illegal hands to the face, incidental facemask for 5 yards, blow to the QBs head, something.

DaFace
09-14-2008, 07:25 PM
They eliminated the "incidental" facemask penalty this year. The call was correct.

chief52
09-14-2008, 07:27 PM
If you have the game TiVo or DVR, maybe you can answer this.

I don't remember when it was, but one of the Raider players grabbed/pulled on Thigpen's facemask for a quick second. Even though it was brief, it still happened.

The official threw a flag, but then said there was no flag on the play because the facemask was "incidental?"

Is that what the official said?

And, how could it not be a flag of some kind? Illegal hands to the face, incidental facemask for 5 yards, blow to the QBs head, something.

Do not have it TIVO'd, but I believe the deal is that the NFL has eliminated the 5 yard face mask penalty. It is either a 15 yard personal foul or an "incidental" face mask which is now legal. There is no longer a 5 yard face mask penalty.

Silock
09-14-2008, 07:27 PM
I have another question.

What was up with the punt that we "recovered" on the 5 yard line that was given back to the Raiders? The official's explanation was convoluted.

ChiefsFanatic
09-14-2008, 07:30 PM
They eliminated the "incidental" facemask penalty this year. The call was correct.

Ok, but did they eliminate the rule about hands/blows to the QBs head?

DaFace
09-14-2008, 07:32 PM
Ok, but did they eliminate the rule about hands/blows to the QBs head?

There are still all sorts of roughing the passer rules, but I guess the ref decided that it wasn't "rough" enough to warrant a penalty. :shrug:

DaFace
09-14-2008, 07:33 PM
I have another question.

What was up with the punt that we "recovered" on the 5 yard line that was given back to the Raiders? The official's explanation was convoluted.

I didn't really get it either, but I think the basic idea is that the receiving team has to touch the ball first in order for it to be a live ball. I've never understood rules governing downing punts and that type of thing though.

chief52
09-14-2008, 07:36 PM
I have another question.

What was up with the punt that we "recovered" on the 5 yard line that was given back to the Raiders? The official's explanation was convoluted.

The Chiefs touched the punt which is referred to as "first touching" and marked. At that point the receiving team can pick the ball up and not risk anything. They will always have the right to take the ball "at the spot of first touching" or take the result of the play. Here the result was a fumble, so the Raiders have the right to take the ball at the spot of first touching. Had the Raiders scored a TD, it would have counted.

That is why you see the punt team hold the ball when they down a punt. You do not want to just touch it and leave it rolling.