PDA

View Full Version : Electronics Any HDMI Gurus Out There?


petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:12 PM
Ok, trying to get my Dad's Blu-Ray to run in 1080p. We just bought a new HDMI cable cause his was over 2 years old and as I understand it, those cables were NOT 1080p compliant.

We looked up his TV model and that says it is 1080p compliant.

So no matter what, we are stuck on 1080i.

Any ideas?

Buck
12-23-2008, 04:15 PM
Is the TV 1080p?

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:17 PM
Is the TV 1080p?

When we looked it up, it claims it is.

aturnis
12-23-2008, 04:17 PM
Is the TV 1080p?

We looked up his TV model and that says it is 1080p compliant.

:spock:

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:18 PM
How do you know that it's 1080i?

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:18 PM
Is the TV 1080p?

He said it was in the OP, BuckinCutler.

Mr. Laz
12-23-2008, 04:19 PM
there are often settings that you need to "checkmark" to allow the various resolutions.

you might have settings in both the DVD player and Television

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:19 PM
How do you know that it's 1080i?

Cause the TV is popping up and saying it is in 1080i Standard. When we set it to 1080p the screen goes blank and eventually kicks back over to 1080i.

phisherman
12-23-2008, 04:21 PM
do you need to maybe set the blu-ray player to output 1080p?

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:22 PM
there are often settings that you need to "checkmark" to allow the various resolutions.

you might have settings in both the DVD player and Television

The TV is set to "Auto". We are checking it see if there is anything specific but.....

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:22 PM
Cause the TV is popping up and saying it is in 1080i Standard. When we set it to 1080p the screen goes blank and eventually kicks back over to 1080i.

Have you checked the output on the Blu-ray player?

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:23 PM
do you need to maybe set the blu-ray player to output 1080p?

We are trying. When we do that it goes blank and comes back asking if we "saw things correctly" which we do not.

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:25 PM
I think we found out the TV Manual lied. There seems to be a law suit agaisnt Mitsubishi for claiming 1080p and it will not accept that setting.

Buck
12-23-2008, 04:27 PM
He said it was in the OP, BuckinCutler.

It didn't say that when I posted, n00b.

Mr. Laz
12-23-2008, 04:28 PM
I think we found out the TV Manual lied. There seems to be a law suit agaisnt Mitsubishi for claiming 1080p and it will not accept that setting.
i hate Big Television!! :cuss:

DaFace
12-23-2008, 04:29 PM
What's the model of your TV? Some models I've seen say that they are 1080p "compliant" (as in, they can take a 1080p signal and display it), but actually downconvert it to 720p instead.

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:30 PM
BEWARE! If you own a Mitsubishi WD-52628, it will not do 1080p regardless of what the manual says. I am reading the ownsers manual and it says it WILL support resolutions of 1080p.

Banyon.....is this Fraud? The TV is still under warranty. Do we have a shot at taking it back to Ultimate Electronics?

BigMeatballDave
12-23-2008, 04:31 PM
I think we found out the TV Manual lied. There seems to be a law suit agaisnt Mitsubishi for claiming 1080p and it will not accept that setting.

Mitsubishi WD-62628 and WD-52628 misrepresentation as 1080P
by daytripper2 - 12/28/07 7:46 AM In reply to: Response to Mitsubishi class action lawsuit by harryshulman

See the blog tread at
http://www.hdblog.net/2005/11/25/review-mitsubishi-wd-62628

Here many people are upset with Mitsubishi for misrepresentation of their WD-62628, WD-52628 etc DLPs as 1080P, bought them, only to learn that they really will not accept 1080P signal through their HDMI port and for many other problems.

The displayed "1080P" on the front of these TV's at Tweeters, Fry's, Best Buy and other retailers, and in ad's, on the packaging and yet, the user manual does not mention support for anything but 1080i through its two HDMI ports and users confirm it will not accept 1080P signal from Sony Playstation 3 Blueray machines.

http://forums.cnet.com/5208-6142_102-0.html?forumID=60&threadID=257865&messageID=2664193

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:31 PM
What's the model of your TV? Some models I've seen say that they are 1080p "compliant" (as in, they can take a 1080p signal and display it), but actually downconvert it to 720p instead.

That's almost cruel, albeit accurate.

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:32 PM
What's the model of your TV? Some models I've seen say that they are 1080p "compliant" (as in, they can take a 1080p signal and display it), but actually downconvert it to 720p instead.

MIT-WD-52628

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:32 PM
Will it display 1080p through the component video connection?

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:34 PM
Will it display 1080p through the component video connection?

Manual says the max resolution via component is 1080i.

I am getting the distinct impression Mitsubishi lied.

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:36 PM
Manual says the max resolution via component is 1080i.

I am getting the distinct impression Mitsubishi lied.

Well, not really. If they said that it's "1080p compliant," they are technically correct. Naughty, but correct.

Saulbadguy
12-23-2008, 04:37 PM
I am getting the distinct impression Mitsubishi lied.

and people died.

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:38 PM
Well, not really. If they said that it's "1080p compliant," they are technically correct. Naughty, but correct.

Actually the manual says it can display resolutions up to 1080p. But when reading their other BS and such it sounds like that it will only do it IF you find your own way other than HDMI to get the 1080p signal in the TV.

DaFace
12-23-2008, 04:40 PM
MIT-WD-52628

Weird...so it technically will do a 1080p display, but just not over HDMI. For all you guys with a firewire connection on your DVD players, this TV's for you!

Sorry pete - looks like you're screwed. No chance you can return it is there?

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:41 PM
Actually the manual says it can display resolutions up to 1080p. But when reading their other BS and such it sounds like that it will only do it IF you find your own way other than HDMI to get the 1080p signal in the TV.

Okay, so how do you do that? You already checked component? DVI?

DaFace
12-23-2008, 04:43 PM
Found this on a blog that talked about the issue. No guarantees, but you might give it a try:

“Why do people keep saying that the 2006 DLPs cannot accept/pass-through 1080p over HDMI? When I had it, I ran my Anthem AVM-50 at 1080p/60 to HDMI-2 on my 52628 and it displayed just fine at 1080p. I’ve since sold the Anthem, but I purchased the Sammy Blu-ray player a few weeks ago and am presently sending 1080p from it into my 52628’s HDMI-2 port.

A few others have said this, but it needs to be repeated: HDMI-1 will NOT accept 1080p, but HDMI-2 will. It works, folks. Just set HDMI-2 as a PC, don’t use the automatic picture centering thing, and you’re good to go.”

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:44 PM
Weird...so it technically will do a 1080p display, but just not over HDMI. For all you guys with a firewire connection on your DVD players, this TV's for you!

Sorry pete - looks like you're screwed. No chance you can return it is there?

I feel for him. My first HDMI amplifier did "HDMI pass-through" only. It only passes the video, so you have to run a separate audio connection from the device to the amp.

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:45 PM
Okay, so how do you do that? You already checked component? DVI?

It sounds as if Mitsubishi made claims they should not have.

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:46 PM
Found this on a blog that talked about the issue. No guarantees, but you might give it a try:

That's awesome.

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:49 PM
Found this on a blog that talked about the issue. No guarantees, but you might give it a try:

Tried it. No luck. But thanks for chasing it down.

ArrowheadHawk
12-23-2008, 04:52 PM
Get a Bravia.

Donger
12-23-2008, 04:52 PM
Tried it. No luck. But thanks for chasing it down.

Are there any port settings on the TV menu itself? You are going straight from the player to the TV, yes? No amp?

petegz28
12-23-2008, 04:59 PM
Are there any port settings on the TV menu itself? You are going straight from the player to the TV, yes? No amp?

I found out it will only work via Firewire. So now I have to run down an HDMI-Firewire converter, I guess.

chasedude
12-23-2008, 05:49 PM
Samsung Rules

BigMeatballDave
12-23-2008, 06:06 PM
I found out it will only work via Firewire. So now I have to run down an HDMI-Firewire converter, I guess.Thats fuggin retarded. Someone at Mitsubishi should be shot.

Buck
12-23-2008, 06:14 PM
I found out it will only work via Firewire. So now I have to run down an HDMI-Firewire converter, I guess.

You probably wont find it.

They run on different interfaces, I don't think they could make a converter.

petegz28
12-23-2008, 07:13 PM
You probably wont find it.

They run on different interfaces, I don't think they could make a converter.

Right. Can't find it anywhere really. The one I did find was $2400....lol. Fug that!

Mr. Flopnuts
12-23-2008, 07:13 PM
Interesting. I thought HDMI was the only way you could display 1080p.