PDA

View Full Version : Computers Can you use a T splitter on Cat5 cable?


OnTheWarpath58
12-26-2008, 04:08 PM
I have about 75 feet of Cat5 cable run from my modem/router upstairs to a network access point downstairs. (wireless signal from router was shitty when downstairs.)

Is there a T splitter (with 3 female jacks) I can use to run the Cat5 cable to, then run one cable to the network point, while having another cable hooked into our BluRay player?

Can't seem to find anything on Monoprice, and I have no desire to run another cable.

Garcia Bronco
12-26-2008, 04:10 PM
Yeah...it's called a switch. You can pick them up for 10 bucks at the lowest.

DaFace
12-26-2008, 04:53 PM
Yeah...it's called a switch. You can pick them up for 10 bucks at the lowest.

To clarify this, there is no such thing as a non-powered "splitter" for ethernet connections. Ethernet is a one-to-one connection, so it's not possible to just splice the wires together. You have to use a powered switch that will have the same effect.

OnTheWarpath58
12-27-2008, 10:36 AM
To clarify this, there is no such thing as a non-powered "splitter" for ethernet connections. Ethernet is a one-to-one connection, so it's not possible to just splice the wires together. You have to use a powered switch that will have the same effect.

OK.

I found the switch at Monoprice.

Question:

It has a dial on it that looks like it can only run the source to one "component" at a time. So I guess I would need to select the BluRay player only when we're using it for BD Live or an update? Or can all 2/4 connections be "powered" at the same time?

DaFace
12-27-2008, 04:58 PM
OK.

I found the switch at Monoprice.

Question:

It has a dial on it that looks like it can only run the source to one "component" at a time. So I guess I would need to select the BluRay player only when we're using it for BD Live or an update? Or can all 2/4 connections be "powered" at the same time?

I'm not quite sure what the dial might be. Most of the time a switch will have all of the devices plugged into it "talking to each other" at the same time. For example, your router is actually technically a router/switch combination. Got a link to the one you're looking at?

OnTheWarpath58
12-27-2008, 10:57 PM
I'm not quite sure what the dial might be. Most of the time a switch will have all of the devices plugged into it "talking to each other" at the same time. For example, your router is actually technically a router/switch combination. Got a link to the one you're looking at?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10103&cs_id=1010305&p_id=1374&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

So, by using this, can I run my Cat5 cable into the switch - then use separate Cat 5 cables to run from the A, B, C and D ports to my Satellite receiver, BluRay player and wireless access point?

HMc
12-28-2008, 12:07 AM
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10103&cs_id=1010305&p_id=1374&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

So, by using this, can I run my Cat5 cable into the switch - then use separate Cat 5 cables to run from the A, B, C and D ports to my Satellite receiver, BluRay player and wireless access point?

Nah dude that's for running video over cat5, not ethernet.

You want one of these.

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=10/100+switch&rls=com.microsoft:*&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&um=1&cid=16632683598900104291#ps-sellers

DaFace
12-28-2008, 12:35 AM
Nah dude that's for running video over cat5, not ethernet.

You want one of these.

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=10/100+switch&rls=com.microsoft:*&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&um=1&cid=16632683598900104291#ps-sellers

Correct. Linksys is of course a fine brand for any networking purchase. If you'd like to explore your options, perhaps "ethernet switch" or "network switch" would yield other good results.

cdcox
12-28-2008, 12:39 AM
DaFace, it seems like Rain Man has taught you a great deal about computers and networks. You should be thankful.

OnTheWarpath58
12-30-2008, 06:19 PM
Nah dude that's for running video over cat5, not ethernet.

You want one of these.

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=10/100+switch&rls=com.microsoft:*&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&um=1&cid=16632683598900104291#ps-sellers

Picked one up today, and it works great.

Thanks for the help, guys.