PDA

View Full Version : Footballsfuture Mock-- 1/17


bowener
01-17-2009, 03:48 PM
[/URL][URL="http://footballsfuture.com/2009/nflmockdraft.html"]2009 NFL Mock Draft By: Robert Davis | Updated: 1/17 (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/nflmockdraft.html)
Detroit - Mark Sanchez, QB, USC
Many have Matt Stafford pegged as the top QB, but Sanchez is on the same level. Sanchez is a work in progress but may be a bit more consistent and should do very well on the post season circuit. Detroit needs a QB and a player that can handle the pressure that comes with the #1 spot and being the face of the franchise, and Sanchez has the maturity to carry that load.
St. Louis - Andre Smith, OL, Alabama (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/andre_smith.html)
It is not a secret than the Rams wanted Jake Long at #2 last year, but he was taken by the Phins in the top spot. This year they get their lineman. Smith could play either tackle spot or guard in the NFL.
Kansas City - Matthew Stafford, QB, Georgia (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/matthew_stafford.html)
The battle between he and Sanchez will continue until draft day to see who is the first QB taken. At this spot, the Chiefs decide to pull the trigger on Stafford despite the potential Tyler Thigpen displayed last year. If Thigpen continues to improve then Stafford is trade bait. If he falters, then Stafford is there to take over and the Chiefs do not wonder ‘What if ...’ by passing on him.
Seattle - Michael Crabtree, WR, Texas Tech (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/michael_crabtree.html)
Crabtree is the top playmaker in the draft, and he plays a need position for the Seahawks. The decision should be made pretty early if he is available.
Cleveland - Malcolm Jenkins, CB, Ohio St. (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/malcolm_jenkins.html)
Another decision that should be very easy if the draft plays out like this. The Browns need help in the secondary, and Jenkins is far and away the top DB available.
Cincinnati - Chris Wells, RB, Ohio St. (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/chris_wells.html)
Ohio born and bred, Wells gets to remain in state and play for the Bengals. There are still some holes on defense that need to be addressed, specifically at DT, but there is no player that would help the Bengals more than Wells would. His presence would take the pressure off Palmer and the passing game, and help the offense become explosive once again.
Oakland - Brian Orakpo, DE, Texas (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/brian_orakpo.html)
One of the top tier OT’s would have to be attractive to the Raiders, but they opt for the pass rusher. Orakpo should have a fine post season which would put him near the top of Al Davis’ wish list but he does provide a boost to the defensive line with his ability to consistently apply pressure off the edge.
Jacksonville - Jason Smith, OT, Baylor (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/jason_smith.html)
The Jags were hit by injuries all year and it definitely put a lot more focus on how bad the line was. Even healthy the unit could use an upgrade, and Smith has as much potential as any lineman in the draft. He is arguably the most natural LT available and would help immediately to give Garrard more time to find his receivers.
Green Bay - Michael Oher, OT, Ole Miss (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/michael_oher.html)
Oher is arguably the top player available, as he could be the best lineman in the draft. Aaron Rodgers needs more time to throw the football to his solid group of receivers, so Oher would help keep him upright more often to get the ball to them.
San Francisco - BJ Raji, DT, Boston College (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/bj_raji.html)
A surprise pick, but he is a player that will continue to rise because of the lack of an established stud at the DT spot. The 9ers need someone on the nose that can be a presence, and Raji is a great fit. He can clog running lanes but also slip through and apply pressure. Singletary is a defensive guy, and wants to establish a physical nature to his defense. This is a bit high, but don’t be surprised to see a tackle go earlier than expected on draft day.
Buffalo - Aaron Curry, LB, Wake Forest (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/aaron_curry.html)
Curry tops the LB position on most people’s boards, and would be an immediate upgrade on the strong side for the Bills.
Denver - Rey Maualuga, LB, USC (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/rey_maualuga.html)
Defense has to be the way the Broncos go. Maualuga is the type of player that sets the tone for an entire defense with his attitude and hitting ability. That physical presence in the middle of the defense will help the entire unit take their game up a notch.
Washington - Eugene Monroe, OT, Virginia (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/eugene_monroe.html)
Monroe is part of the big four at the tackle spot this year, and in this scenario is the last one to go. The Skins need to get younger on the offensive line, and Monroe could provide help at both tackle spots immediately.
New Orleans - Vontae Davis, CB, Illinois (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/vontae_davis.html)
Every year it seems the Saints are in need of a corner upgrade. This year is no different, but for the first time, a top notch option is worth their first round pick. Davis would be a huge boost to their secondary.
Houston - Everrette Brown, DE, Florida St.
The Texans have invested two of their last four first rounders on defensive lineman, but help is still needed. Pairing Brown with Mario Williams could make it one of the most feared pass rush duos in the league very quickly.
San Diego - Tyson Jackson, DL, LSU (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/tyson_jackson.html)
Jackson appears like he was born to play the end in a 3-4 alignment, which would be a great fit for the Chargers. He has the ability to play a few roles, and will help bring more talent to a defense in need of it.
NY Jets - Jeremy Maclin, WR, Missouri (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/jeremy_maclin.html)
Maclin is a big play threat waiting to happen, which is exactly what the Jets need. Whether it is Brett Favre or Kellen Clemens, a receiver to stretch the field and strike fear in the defense is needed, and Maclin is the ideal fit and best player available.
Chicago - Darrius Heyward-Bey, WR, Maryland (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/darrius_heyward-bey.html)
The vertical threat from the Bears offense has been non existent since Bernard Berrian left for the Vikings. Heyward-Bey is an explosive weapon that brings another dimension to the offense, which should help open up things for the entire unit.
Tampa Bay - Peria Jerry, DT, Ole Miss (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/peria_jerry.html)
The defense has some holes and needs an infusion of youth. Jerry would be an upgrade at defensive tackle, and would provide a disruptive force the team has not had on the interior for years.
Detroit(Dal) - Michael Johnson, DE, Georgia Tech (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/michael_johnson.html)
There are holes everywhere for the Lions. They nabbed Sanchez earlier to pair with their talented RB/WR duo of Smith and Johnson. Now they turn their attention to the defense, and the best way to improve a defense is to improve the pass rush. Johnson has tremendous pass rush potential and would be a great pick at this point in the draft.
Arizona - LeSean McCoy, RB, Pitt
The Cardinals have been a surprise and are one game away from the Super Bowl. The team could look drastically different, so picking a direction for them is tough a this point. The future of Kurt Warner, Anquan Boldin, and Karlos Dansby will play major roles in their decisions. If the team is turned over to Leinart, the running game and offensive line become a bigger priority. If Dansby decides to leave, the defense will need attention. At this point, taking a young back gives the offense more balance and should help the team eat up more clock, keeping the defense off the field. McCoy’s quickness is the ideal compliment to Hightower’s power.
Minnesota - Max Unger, OL, Oregon (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/max_unger.html)
Unger could legitimately fill in at any spot on the offensive line in the NFL. He could project as an immediate upgrade at right tackle, while providing depth at every other spot. That versatility makes it easy to fill in holes a they come open ,and makes him an attractive option for any team in this range.
New England - Alphonso Smith, CB, Wake Forest (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/alphonso_smith.html)
The offense can put up points with the best of them, but the defense needs some help. Jerod Mayo was a great selection last year, but more help is needed, specifically in the secondary. Size is the only glaring issue with Smith, and the Pats have proven to prefer the smaller, quicker corners. He would fit nicely in their defense and should be the big play threat they lost when Asante Samuel left for Philly last year,.
Atlanta - William Moore, S, Missouri (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/william_moore.html)
Moore had a down year as a senior because of injuries, but he should be fine for workouts. That should allow him to bring back the hype he generated after a big junior season. He has the size and skills to play at either free or strong safety.
Miami - DJ Moore, CB, Vanderbilt
The offense surprised this year, and it should be even better with the continued development of Jake Long and Ted Ginn. Parcells would love to add a pass rusher or corner here, and Moore gets the nod because he is the best player available at either spot. Aaron Maybin could draw a lot of consideration here, but may be too much of a project for a team looking for of an immediate boost.
Baltimore - Kenny Britt, WR, Rutgers (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/kenny_britt.html)
Joe Flacco has been a surprise but in order for him to elevate his play next year, he needs more playmakers. Britt is the type of big intermediate receiver that would quickly become Flacco’s favorite target. On a veteran team that features players like Ray Lewis and Ed Reed, Britt’s primadonna attitude would be put to rest very quickly. It would be a great situation for him to maximize his potential.
Indianapolis - Fili Moala, DT, USC (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/fili_moala.html)
The team is in serious need of an upgrade on the interior defensive line, and Moala is the best player left in position to help them at that spot. Keep an eye on Percy Harvin is he is still available.
Philadelphia(Car) - Eben Britton, OL, Arizona
Both starting tackles are aging, and someone to develop behind them is needed. Britton is an early entry, so he could use some time behind them but can play immediately if the need is there.
NY Giants - James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio St. (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/james_laurinaitis.html)
The WR position could be a big need depending on how the Plaxico Burress situation eventually plays out, but right now the Giants add some talent to the LB position. Laurinaitis brings the talent to play immediately outside but would be the eventual replacement inside for Antonio Pierce.
Tennessee - Percy Harvin, WR, Florida (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/percy_harvin.html)
Harvin is exactly what the Titans offense needs. They have a great running game and some solid intermediate threats at receiver. The team lacks speed and playmaking ability, and his presence would provide immediate dividends. The offense would all of a sudden have two of the biggest playmakers in the game with Harvin and 2nd year RB Chris Johnson.
Philadelphia - Aaron Maybin, DE, Penn St.
Maybin was a kid that could have pushed for Top 5 consideration had he returned to school. His declaration cost him money up front, but that could be the Eagles gain. With two picks this close, the team has the ability to gamble on the potential of Maybin. He will need some time to grow into his frame but could provide a boost on third downs early on.
Pittsburgh - Duke Robinson, OG, Oklahoma (http://footballsfuture.com/2009/prospects/duke_robinson.html)
This is a guy the Steelers have to have their eye on in this range. He would fit nicely into Al Faneca’s old spot and hold down a guard position for a very long time.

Danman
01-17-2009, 05:25 PM
I'm OK with this mock. I do think the Chiefs will take QB. My preference is Sanchez. We should start a media blitz for Stafford so Sanchez will drop. I'd hate to see Denver get Ray Ray, but since we don't know who'll be doing the drafting there maybe they'll draft the Duke or Maybin there. I'm OK with Orakpo to the raiders and Tyson Jackson to the bolts, I think both of these players will underachieve at the next level.

DrRyan
01-19-2009, 04:42 PM
I still would prefer the Chiefs don't go QB with pick #3, but if they go that route I would like Stafford over Sanchez. One season as the starting QB and you want to invest $50+ Million into him? That proposition is a little dicey for me.

Gravedigger
01-20-2009, 09:38 PM
His Mock is good but his reasoning is f'n retarded. So we're going to choose Tyler Thigpen before Matt Stafford even plays a down for us and use him as trade bait? You kidding me? Thigpen is going to be third string this year with the veteran we'll bring in as our 2 and whoever we draft/Cassell as #1.