PDA

View Full Version : Life So, I got Laid-off today...

BCD
03-02-2009, 06:25 PM
I saw it coming. No surprise, really. Now, I'm gonna sit on my fat ass and collect unemployment. I've never done that. They said it could be a month or 3 months or longer. I'm a CNC Machinist. I had been working 10 hrs. Monday-Friday for the past 5 yrs. 3 weeks ago, my hrs were cut to 9 hrs./day. Starting today, everyone was cut down to 8 hrs/day. 4 people were let go last friday. I guess the main reason for the lay-offs were due to a customer cutting half their orders. We machine bearing component parts for Timken, pillowbiter, MRC, SKF, American Roller, Emerson, etc. The parts we make are the copper-alloy retainers that hold the rollers.

So, I guess I'll be padding my post count...

EDIT: I found a job!

58-4ever
03-02-2009, 06:27 PM
Sorry man. It just happened to my best friend too. It's tough out there. I'm glad my company is still making a shit-load of money.

kcpasco
03-02-2009, 06:29 PM
Ya I'm at the bottom of my seniority group, I've been worried myself. I'm just glad Obama is throwing a bunch of money back into the economy.

Fairplay
03-02-2009, 06:29 PM
These are tough times man. I hope you get through this and find another job soon.

KcMizzou
03-02-2009, 06:30 PM
Sorry to hear it, man. My place just went through a round of layoffs as well. We lost the bottom 8 in seniority from my department. Scary stuff.

Sounds like you're about as prepared for it as anyone can really be expected to be. Good luck to you, man. Here's hoping things turn around soon.

kcpasco
03-02-2009, 06:32 PM
Thats the only thing bad about seniority, the guys at the top can sit around and do absolutley nothing and not have anything to worry about.

Play cards and take 5 hour lunch breaks, bunch of bastards.

Herzig
03-02-2009, 06:36 PM