PDA

View Full Version : Life My employment story, thus far...

Sully
03-06-2009, 11:28 AM
A lot of folks are talking on here about the ups and downs of their job or lack thereof, and I find myself in a weird situation, so I thought I'd share.

I graduated 3 years ago from UMKC with a degree in History, and began school at Avila for a cert in teaching social studies. I also coach football.
Knowing this was the semester I'd be student teaching, and with some unhappiness with the coaching staff I was on, i resigned from where I was coaching, expecting that the next place I'd be hired will be where I will coach.

As many of you know, the worst field to get a job in teaching in is Social Studies. Everyone and their neighbor is certified in Social Studies. At a job fair last night, I felt like I did years ago on football recruiting trips when I'd tell a coach my 40-time. They'd just begin to look past me. Some were interested when they learned I coach, but I don't know if it's enough.

So I made a decision. I'm going to spend the next 6-weeks studying, and test to get dual certified in Science. It's a field with much more need, I've always done well in science courses, and it should open a few more doors for me.

It sucks, because it's not my passion, like history. But in the long run...teaching is my passion, so just to be able to do that (and also support my family) will be a plus.

Wish me luck.

DeezNutz
03-06-2009, 11:30 AM
Good luck, dude.

Mr. Flopnuts
03-06-2009, 11:31 AM
Good luck. Just because you teach Science now, doesn't mean you can't teach SS later. You have a plan, and it's a good one. I'm sure things will work out for you just fine.

Sully
03-06-2009, 11:33 AM
The next step will be to get certified in Special Ed.
I hate that, though, because it's almost asking to be pigeonholed for the entirety of my career.

OnTheWarpath58
03-06-2009, 11:33 AM
Is the "social studies" thing a local issue?