PDA

View Full Version : Life Getting audited.... this sucks

Braincase
06-17-2009, 04:35 PM
Home office related. I know the rules. As a trainer, I spend 30-50% of my work time per month working in my home. I have received clients into my home, had corporate deliveries to my home. When I have prep weeks, I prep in my home to increase my productivity (I'd spend 10-15 hours a week just driving from my home office to Leawood). I've also consulted and worked for Microsoft based out of this office to the tune of around $3 grand a year. I keep my home office equipped with multiple systems configured in a network and various VLANS in support of my career. I maintain internet access in support of my career, as well as that of my wife. I regularly give out my cell number to clients. There is no phone in the Topeka office, so if there is a need to contact me or another student, my cell phone is the point of contact. I have used my vehicle to drive to onsight locations, and non-work locations to do work related research and customer support.

I've claimed my office, and the mileage when I've used my personal vehicle to travel between my home office and the Leawood office. No the IRS says I owe 7k, 5k in taxes, 2k in interest & penalties.

You guys know how this goes. If I can't prove my case this year, next thing that happens is that they go after every other year, and then the state jumps in on top.

I believe I'm OK. Meeting with clients, having deliveries, and spending so much time here should justify my claim, but I'm scared sh!tless.

Advice is welcome.

Pestilence
06-17-2009, 04:35 PM
Guess you're not going to Hawaii.......

Braincase
06-17-2009, 04:38 PM
Guess you're not going to Hawaii.......

We've already paid for everything, so we might as well go. I've got all the reports coming in, and we have 30 days. I'll be busy when we get back, though.

Buehler445
06-17-2009, 04:48 PM
Do you have a CPA? This is the time that they are not horridly overpaid.