PDA

View Full Version : Life Question about House painting:

Frankie
07-06-2009, 12:31 PM
The addition to my house that I have been working on for the past 2 yearsis nearly finished. FINALLY!! Now we are repainting the house. I'm planning to paint right over the old paint. But there are new parts that need to be primed. I have a few partially full cans of old exterior paint that will not be used as the final color. Can I use them up as primer?

Baconeater
07-06-2009, 12:34 PM
No, you don't want to use that if it's bare wood. I'd recommend using a semi-acrylic primer such as Kilz2. You'll want to thin it down with some water to make it easier to work with. You can also get it tinted so it's close to your finish color.

excessive
07-06-2009, 12:39 PM
I wouldn't. They sell self-priming paint nowdays, Valspar's Duramax to name one, that you could use
everywhere, but it's not a good idea to skip that step and go straight to paint.

mlyonsd
07-06-2009, 12:42 PM
No, primer is special in that it acts as a sealer and a special base for paint to adhere to.

Sorry tight wad, go stimulate the economy and spend some more money.

Phobia
07-06-2009, 12:49 PM
On drywall, sure. On bare wood? No.

Frankie
07-06-2009, 12:49 PM
No, primer is special in that it acts as a sealer and a special base for paint to adhere to.

Sorry tight wad, go stimulate the economy and spend some more money.

I wanna stimulate nature by using up those cans instead of tossing them. OK I admit, I wanted to save a few bucks too. Kinda killing two birds,...

Frankie
07-06-2009, 12:51 PM
On drywall, sure. On bare wood? No.

I have some drywall to finish up too, but these are exterior paint. Is this what you mean?

Phobia
07-06-2009, 12:52 PM
No, don't use exterior paint indoors.

ferrarispider95
07-06-2009, 12:55 PM
phobia can correct me if I am wrong.

But on new drywall make sure you get the PVA primer that seals so that you do not see your joints.

Frankie
07-06-2009, 01:07 PM