PDA

View Full Version : Life Should I be pissed?

The Bad Guy
08-23-2009, 10:34 PM
Well I'm set to start my new job next Monday. However, the special education coordinator calls me last Friday and says they are moving me from the position I accepted and interviewed for, to a completely different one, which I have no experience with.

Now mind you, I've been gathering materials all summer for this job. I've communicated extensively with the principal and formed some relationships in the building.

My workload is also going to increase, substancially.

I'm pretty aggravated that I would get shifted. I want to call her and talk to her about it, but I don't want to come across as a dick. I just think it's massively unfair that this switch happened a week before school. It will take me a good month to really settle into this position, whereas the other one I had 2 years experience with already.

Couple this with the birth of my first child, and I have zero time to get anything together in preperation.

This sucks. I think tomorrow I'm going to ask politely if I can stay at the position I have the experience with and all the materials for and see what happens.

Would you be annoyed?

Buehler445
08-23-2009, 10:39 PM
Affirmative.

Not a good way to start your new job.

sportsman1
08-23-2009, 10:39 PM
Yes.

pr_capone
08-23-2009, 10:40 PM
I would be annoyed but at the same time grateful that I have a job at all. With so many people out of work, most everyone is easily replaceable.

The Bad Guy
08-23-2009, 10:43 PM
I would be annoyed but at the same time grateful that I have a job at all. With so many people out of work, most everyone is easily replaceable.

See, I agree with that. However, I did turn down other offers because this job presented me the opportunity to stick with a subject area I had massive amounts of experience with.