PDA

View Full Version : Chiefs Measure Intelligence?

jidar
10-22-2009, 11:31 AM
Why is it that typical people seem to often believe that you cannot accurately measure brain power? I ask because any time IQ tests or the like are brought up there are lots of folks who say that they don't work.
Why not?
What is it about intelligence that makes it untestable?

Rain Man
10-22-2009, 11:47 AM
It's criticized because a majority of people are not above average. Same reason why people don't like standardized tests. I personally think the 40 yard dash is invalid because I'm not good at it.

That said, raw intelligence isn't the only key to success in life. In fact, I don't think it's in the top two. I suspect there's also a valid criticism that being labeled average or below average means you can't be successful when that's not the case.

vailpass
10-22-2009, 11:48 AM
It's easy to measure, just start at the base.

Iowanian
10-22-2009, 12:14 PM
There is a difference between intelligence and knowledge.

If you're trying to measure intelligence with facts, a person with superior intellect may never have been exposed to that fact.

A couple of the most intelligent people I know are utterly pathetic in work ethic and success in life.

Demonpenz
10-22-2009, 12:15 PM
I have an above average IQ. So take that test with that grain of salt

Blindside58
10-22-2009, 12:15 PM
This Thread is Culturally Biased!

Jenson71
10-22-2009, 12:18 PM
I think they work and are good indicators for raw intelligence. Maybe it's just a matter of whether they deserve to be touted so highly?

I'm slightly above average in intelligence. I'd say I'm smarter than 63% of the rest of America. Not outstanding. But I'd consider myself to have a pretty solid work ethic and emotional intelligence. I work well with others, can be a good follower or leader if need to be. So maybe based on that I shouldn't be discredited with my somewhat average IQ.

Rain Man
10-22-2009, 12:19 PM