PDA

View Full Version : Misc Give me a good idea for a payments system and we can win $150k

DRU
11-22-2009, 04:31 AM
PayPal is running a contest right now for developers to create applications using their new API systems they just opened up. I'm a certified PayPal developer that's been working with PayPal's API's for about 6 years now and their new stuff is really exciting.

Anyway, I'd like to submit as many applications as I can. Obviously, the more ideas I can include the better chance I have to win the contest with one of them.

The new systems include the following...

Pay Anyone - It's now real simple to submit payments from cell phones or from web apps using the PayPal API's. Payments can be sent to a single receiver or up to 6 receivers and the money will be automatically split. The application can specify who pays the fees...primary or secondary receivers.

Preapproved Payments - The ability to setup preapproved payments with an application so that you can then pay anybody using PayPal with nothing more than a 4 digit PIN. You don't ahve to sign into PayPal to make the payment anymore. Makes it a lot quicker. You can also create automated payments that occur daily, weekly, monthly, or annually.

Adaptive Accounts / Authentication - It's now really easy to create PayPal accounts from within an application's flow. Also, you can use PayPal's login system to authenticate users of your web site or application. PayPal user authentication is much more reliable than something like Facebook Connect because of all of the verification procedures you have to go through for a PayPal account. That way your application can know that this person really is who they say they are.

I'd love to hear any ideas you guys can come up with on how moving money could be made easier. Examples of how people are using these new API's already are things like the following...

- Preapproval systems for renters/tenants so payments can be made automatically using PayPal.