PDA

View Full Version : Life Got a Job offer in IT Sales

Reerun_KC
12-14-2009, 07:18 PM
Okay, so many of you know that I am an aspiring pilot. But with this economy as it is, the chances of me flying for a living in the next 2 years is probably not going to happen and may never happen under this jackass called Obama.....

So with that being said, I got a job offer today for a IT outsourcing company in sales. Thing is, they see me as a good salesman, yet I never have offically done a sales job. They offered me a good base salary and a sweet commission package. I would be the first sales person for this company and he offered me a management position as soon as we hired another sales guy.

I am pretty nervous about it. I need the job more than words can describe. Seems like we are right on the edge of broke dick each month... Actually we are broker than broke dick each month...

I told them I would ponder it over the night and send them an email in the am with some questions or concerns that I have.

What questions should I be asking and how do you handle expenses? Do you sales people have them supply you with equipment or do you provide your on and take it off your taxes as expenses?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Buehler445
12-14-2009, 07:21 PM
The biggest thing you need to know is how much you will be traveling. If it's just around OKC, you could probably handle driving yourself. If you have to drive to BFE, they're going to need to provide something.

kstater
12-14-2009, 07:25 PM
The biggest thing you need to know is how much you will be traveling. If it's just around OKC, you could probably handle driving yourself. If you have to drive to BFE, they're going to need to provide something.

I'd take it further. Even if it's just in OKC try to work something out. Maybe a travel stipend or 50/50. Salesmen put a ton of miles on vehicles.

And congrats on the new job.

Reerun_KC
12-14-2009, 07:26 PM