PDA

View Full Version : Legal Massive SCOTUS decision related to corporations and campaign finance

Pages : [1] 2

alnorth
01-21-2010, 08:40 AM
In a 5-4 decision, the Supreme Court has just overruled the prior SCOTUS decision in Austin v Michigan Chamber of Commerce, and has effectively killed the part of the "Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002" restricting ads from corporations.

I'm not a lawyer, but a quick glance to me seems that this court has recognized a 1st amendment right to political speech for all unions, for-profit, and non-profit corporations. The fact that they could form a PAC is irrelevant, they should be able to spend money on ads from the general corporate or union funds.

No clue if this also does anything to any spending limits, but it appears (for example) that if the Coca-Cola Bottling company wants to run an ad asking voters in Georgia to vote for a particular guy in 2010, now they can.

Personally, I have no problem with this. I am sympathetic to the fear that corporations can buy favors, but they can do that anyway, and we could have laws requireing all corporate-paid ads make it clear who paid for the ad. The voters are not completely stupid, I'd imagine seeing a guy supported only by corporate ads could be a turn-off.

Cannibal
01-21-2010, 08:47 AM
Now the politicians on both sides will be even more beholden to the Corporations that finance their campaigns. This is a fuckin disgrace. I am sick of this shit.

KC native
01-21-2010, 08:49 AM
Now the politicians on both sides will be even more beholden to the Corporations that finance their campaigns. This is a ****in disgrace. I am sick of this shit.

This all the way.

Garcia Bronco
01-21-2010, 08:51 AM
Money is free speech. Corporations should be able to do with their money as they please. IF you don't like what they spend their money on then it's an opportunity for you to NOT spend money with them.

Cannibal
01-21-2010, 08:52 AM