PDA

View Full Version : Poop Tuscaloosa, AL: Tell Me 'Bout It

Reaper16
02-12-2010, 09:03 PM
As I spend the next month and a half considering which of my graduate school offers of acceptance to pick as the school where I will spend the next three years improving as a writer and teacher, I will need to find out about the communities in which these schools reside.

So, one of the schools to accept me so far is Alabama. Its one of the very best M.F.A. in creative writing programs in the country -- its very, very selective, only 3% of applicants will get in -- and I will be fully funded. I would love to attend the program... but it is in Tuscaloosa, AL.

So, any intrepid Planeteers know from Tuscaloosa? Atmosphere, dining, culture, etc. I appreciate it.

SNR
02-12-2010, 09:32 PM
ROLL TIDE!!!11

kstater
02-12-2010, 09:33 PM
Be aware of a culture shock. I'm not even in the deep south and there's uh, differences of opinion on a bunch of things.

Reaper16
02-12-2010, 09:36 PM
Be aware of a culture shock. I'm not even in the deep south and there's uh, differences of opinion on a bunch of things.
Such as?

SNR
02-12-2010, 09:37 PM
In all seriousness, I had a creative writing professor who was my professor for general freshman orientation course (sort of like expository writing at Harvard, only it wasn't at Harvard). She was a graduate from Alabama, and appeared to know her shit. Not just about writing, but about all the history and literature we were covering in that course. Even just writing basic introductory college papers for her improved my writing quite a bit. And I never really thought of myself as a bad writer when I first entered college.

That doesn't answer your question. Just wanted to say that I know you're not making this shit up about Alabama. She was a damn good instructor.

kstater
02-12-2010, 09:38 PM
Such as?

Whether or not a white woman should hug a black man.

Saul Good
02-12-2010, 09:39 PM