PDA

View Full Version : Defending Seattle, use a 3-4?

BIG_DADDY
10-24-2000, 05:04 AM
Given our D-line injuries and Seattle's RBs plus West Coast offense, I'd seriously consider using a 3-4 defense. I realize we wouldn't get much pressure on the passer that way, but how much does Holmgren trust Kitna? Their O-line is awful, but they have some very special RBs. With an extra LB out there we could shut down the screens and dump passes they've been living on. Put the 4-3 in for passing downs or blitz regularly from the 3-4.

Normally I'm not a proponent of the 3-4, as an extra player at the LOS can do so much for you. In our case we have big injuries on the D-line and plenty of LB depth. Plus, I'd love to see Maz out there more. Whaddya think?

[This message has been edited by KC Jones (edited 10-24-2000).]

Chieffan
10-24-2000, 05:55 AM
Have they worked on the 3-4 at all? Big risk playing a "D" that you have shelved. Putting Stills on a OT is just asking for trouble. I say play the "bear" and put then in long yardage. Score a wad of points and take the running game out of the mix.

htismaqe
10-24-2000, 06:45 AM
I think Oxford has the right of it.

Score early and often. Use Edwards as a spy on Waters (or Alexander), have the D Line maintain their lanes (except on passing downs), and cause their QB to spend more time horizontal than vertical (who's starting for them this week anyway?).

I think this is a perfect opportunity for the 'Super Chiefs' to show that they were not a one game wonder.

luz
we should collect lots of turnovers and lots of points...

BIG_DADDY
10-24-2000, 07:51 AM
Oh no, I would by no means change our offensive philosophy. Unless of course they come out in a 4-1-6 like we did against the Rams. Speaking of which, I doubt we practiced the 4-1-6 that much before Rams week. I'm not sure playing a 3-4 would be that big a change compared to all the defensive looks we gave the Rams.

Phobia
10-24-2000, 07:53 AM