PDA

View Full Version : Nat'l Security Ge. McChrystal relieved of duties...

petegz28
06-23-2010, 12:36 PM
Hitting the wires now. Patreus to replace him.

ClevelandBronco
06-23-2010, 12:52 PM
To paraphrase our gifted orator in chief: "I'm butthurt. He's out. I'll now say a few words about a bunch of other shit that I don't really believe, but my handlers tell me that it's what you want to hear."

blaise
06-23-2010, 12:52 PM
If it's true I can't fault Obama. I've never been in the military, so I don't mean to speak for anyone that's served, but I think if I was a soldier right now I would want my General and my President to be on the same page, and know that my General believed in the President's leadership.

banyon
06-23-2010, 12:53 PM
After what I've read and watched about the present state of the Afghan War, this would appear to be a serious mistake.

the strategy in Afghanistan is almost 180 degrees different than what is possible in Iraq. Having people not concentrated in urban populations and roving tribal warlords and the ability of your enemy to escape across transnational borders with material support from what is supposed to be an ally requires a markedly different approach that McChrystal seemed to be having some success with.

BigMeatballDave
06-23-2010, 12:56 PM
He probably wanted out anyway. I like this guy. He's got balls.

bluehawkdoc
06-23-2010, 12:58 PM
If it's true I can't fault Obama. I've never been in the military, so I don't mean to speak for anyone that's served, but I think if I was a soldier right now I would want my General and my President to be on the same page, and know that my General believed in the President's leadership.

If I were a soldier, I would want the President to stay the hell out of the way so my General could implement his plan since he actually knows something about war strategy and combat.

HonestChieffan
06-23-2010, 12:59 PM