PDA

View Full Version : Computers My Quick Take On Apple, The iPhone, Android, etc.

The Rick
06-25-2010, 08:11 AM
Tthe release of the iPhone 4 yesterday and the hype/backlash surrounding it has caused me to kind of evaluate the way I see things. I've seen some "attacks" against Apple and the iPhone here (some directed at me) and elsewhere around the web. I've had someone at my place of employment try to convince me his new HTC Incredible was better than my new iPhone 4.

First, let me just say that I consider myself fairly educated when it comes to the tech industry. I manage our fleet of servers and a group of 5 server administrators at work. We have a mix of AIX, Red Hat Linux, and Windows servers. A majority of our servers run Windows. My background is in UNIX so I do most of the work myself on our AIX and Linux systems. Yesterday, I spent the day doing alternate disk migrations of AIX LPARs from 5.3 to 6.1 using NIM.

I give you that information solely to demonstrate that I'm a kind of a tinkerer by nature. I think most IT people are. I used to run Linux on my home PC in the past and all that.

Today, I find myself pretty heavily invested in Apple stuff. I have an iMac, iTouch Senior Citizen Edition, and iPhone. Why? Because the stuff just works, and I don't have to tinker with it.

It's different than when I was younger. Now that I'm older and have a wife and three young children, I don't want to have to tinker with stuff outside of work. I don't have time to. After work, I want to spend time with my kids. After the kids go to bed, I want to spend time with my wife. :evil:

As I said, I used to run Linux on my home PC. It worked great, and I was able to do some really cool stuff with it. However, I don't think anyone would admit that Linux is very polished. For the most part, running Linux means tinkering, which I did a lot of.