PDA

View Full Version : Life Your Facebook posts, and your boss.

Direckshun
08-14-2010, 09:22 PM
I just got off the phone with a coworker who was told earlier today that she was about this close to getting fired for trash talking on her employer -- not her boss, but the company -- on Facebook.

Some of the things she said were generally critical, revealed nothing that was private (she was bitching about public information about the financial mess of the company she works at).

She was harrassed about it by her boss at work the next week after the postings (she had posted about the issues several times), and was told today in a frank conversation that they considered firing her over it, but chose not to.

She asked me if she'd have a legal case to sue her employer after being fired for antagonistic, but not privacy-violating, Facebook posting about her job. I'm not a lawyer, I have no idea.

Thoughts?

BillSelfsTrophycase
08-14-2010, 09:23 PM
Facebook + careers = a clusterfuck waiting to happen

BIG_DADDY
08-14-2010, 09:25 PM
No, but it's about time to go find another job. Hopefully your friend doesn't pull another brilliant move and look it on the company computer.

chasedude
08-14-2010, 09:25 PM
Nothing is private anymore:cuss:

irishjayhawk
08-14-2010, 09:27 PM
Facebook + careers = a cluster**** waiting to happen

I'm wondering if that's going to change here on out.

Imagine in 30 years when politicians will be vetted for something posted to their fb status years previously.

luv
08-14-2010, 09:27 PM
What you say on Facebook can legally be used against you. However, if she violated any company policy is a different story. If she hasn't said anything that isn't public knowledge, then, IMO she should be fine. If she signed any privacy statements preventing her from saying anything, public knowledge or not, she could be in the wrong.

The_Doctor10
08-14-2010, 09:28 PM