PDA

View Full Version : Football Zone defense. Are you a fan?

luv
09-20-2010, 09:57 PM
Teach me something.

In other words, however you feel about it, please explain why. Advantages? Disadvantages?

-King-
09-20-2010, 09:58 PM
No Im a human. Fans spin, I don't.

luv
09-20-2010, 10:03 PM
No Im a human. Fans spin, I don't.

You should. It's fun.

Lame attempt at humor over sharing knowledge? Is that because of a lack of the latter?

Buck
09-20-2010, 10:04 PM
They are necessary if you want to win. I don't think you could name a team who runs a Man Coverage only defense.

kysirsoze
09-20-2010, 10:06 PM
I like zone defense when you don't have the speed to cover man to man. Even when you do, good zone defense can be really confusing for a QB and lead to turnovers. Bad to mediocre zone defense, OTOH, can be awful to watch. It can really get a rhythm going for the QB. I'm far from an expert, but that's my take.

'Hamas' Jenkins
09-20-2010, 10:06 PM
I prefer a press man scheme because it's easier to get after the QB. That said, the mistakes are more amplified and far more costly.

Unfortunately, with the way the modern NFL works, it's nigh impossible to run a base defense where your corners play man without at least zone help over the top, provided by the safeties, or in the middle of the field by your linebackers.

The zone isn't nearly as dynamic of a defense, and the bend-but-don't-break mentality strikes me as soft, but it is probably the best scheme in the current game given that you can't touch WRs.

Mecca
09-20-2010, 10:07 PM
Zone is the rage now because the amount of talent that would require you to run a man scheme is off the charts.

kysirsoze
09-20-2010, 10:08 PM
They are necessary if you want to win. I don't think you could name a team who runs a Man Coverage only defense.

Well, yeah. I guess when you say zone defense, I assume you mean "mostly zone" versus "mostly man."