PDA

View Full Version : Home and Auto Real Estate Question

ArrowheadHawk
01-11-2011, 01:20 PM
Any Realtors on the board? I'm trying to buy a house. I got pre-approved from Quicken Loans, so I start looking at houses. I find one I like and decide to put an offer on the house. The Seller's agent tells the seller that they should request I get pre-approved from a local bank. I think not that big a deal and apply at a bank the Realtor recommends. I get turned down. So now I don't know what to do. Should I just give up and wait till I can get approved at a local bank?

NewChief
01-11-2011, 01:22 PM
Are you a first time home buyer?

doomy3
01-11-2011, 01:26 PM
I am an agent with Reece and Nichols. Shoot me a PM if you want a few local mortgage contacts. I work with several local banks and could help you out.

ArrowheadHawk
01-11-2011, 01:28 PM
Are you a first time home buyer?

No. But I do qualify for a VA loan.

58-4ever
01-11-2011, 01:34 PM
If you have a statement from Quicken saying that you qualify for the amount that they are asking, I don't know what the big deal is. Will it be an FHA or a conventional loan? That could explain the hesitance.

Simplex3
01-11-2011, 01:36 PM
I'd call Quicken and ask them what's up. Sounds like a Realtor who feels he has an interest in keeping the loan fees/etc. local. I'm assuming you don't have a buyer's agent?

blaise
01-11-2011, 01:39 PM
I'm no expert, but did the bank turn you down period, or did they turn you down for a loan on this house? I remember our realtor telling us that a bank could approve you as a client, but if they don't agree with the valuation of the home they won't want to do the loan.

Saulbadguy
01-11-2011, 01:43 PM
You should probably get pre-approved at multiple banks, as I bet Quicken doesn't give you the best rates.

Try Cap-Fed here in Topeka. They won't sell your loan.

doomy3
01-11-2011, 01:54 PM