View Full Version : Chiefs Teicher: Haley will be honored as AFC coach of year by Committee of 101

Tribal Warfare
01-14-2011, 04:04 AM
Haley will be honored as AFC coach of year by Committee of 101 (http://www.kansascity.com/2011/01/13/2582560/haley-will-be-honored-as-afc-coach.html)
The Kansas City Star

The Committee of 101 has given Todd Haley the first of what may be several coach-of-the-year awards.

Haley was selected by the committee as AFC coach of the year. He will be honored at the annual 101 banquet March 5 at the Westin Crown Center Hotel.

Other 2010 award winners:

•New England quarterback Tom Brady as AFC offensive player of the year. Brady was the NFL’s top-rated passer, throwing for 36 touchdowns and only four interceptions.

•Pittsburgh safety Troy Polamalu as AFC defensive player of the year. Polamalu led the defense that allowed the fewest rushing yards and fewest points.

•Philadelphia quarterback Michael Vick as NFC offensive player of the year. Vick was the second player in NFL history to finish a season with 3,000 passing yards, 500 rushing yards and a passer rating of over 100. San Francisco’s Steve Young was the first.

•Green Bay linebacker Clay Matthews as NFC defensive player of the year. Matthews had 13 1/2 sacks.

•Atlanta’s Mike Smith as NFC coach of the year. The Falcons had an NFC-best 13-3 record and will send seven players to the Pro Bowl.

A national media committee, composed of 101 writers and broadcasters who cover the NFL, selected the award winners in each category.

NFL Films is this year’s winner of the Lamar Hunt Award, given for contributions to pro football.

Haley is the third Chiefs coach to win the coach-of-the-year award from the 101, following Hank Stram and Marty Schottenheimer.

Haley took the Chiefs to a 4-12 record in his first season in 2009. The Chiefs went 10-6 this season, improving by a franchise-record six games, and won their first AFC West championship since 2003.

They lost their first-round playoff game 30-7 to Baltimore.

“While our team’s development was truly a collective effort, I am extremely humbled to follow in the footsteps of coaches like Hank Stram and Marty Schottenheimer,” Haley said. “Our football team made tremendous progress in 2010, but there is still a great deal of work yet to do to achieve our ultimate objective.”

The March 5 banquet will also honor the Chiefs’ most valuable player and rookie of the year.

Hog's Gone Fishin
01-14-2011, 08:18 AM
Soft schedule won him that award/Knowmo

01-14-2011, 08:19 AM

01-14-2011, 08:25 AM
No luv for Carrol? OH wait, thats NFC...

01-14-2011, 09:11 AM
Chiefs MVP - Jamaal Charles

Chiefs ROTY - Eric Berry or Tony Moeaki (kinda torn b/w the two)