PDA

View Full Version : Home and Auto Question for plumbers/contractors about an install

Simplex3
03-10-2011, 08:49 AM
I had our leaking 50 gallon water heater replaced by two 40 gallon heaters. Judging by these two pictures, is this installation acceptable?

Pics in next post

Lzen
03-10-2011, 08:50 AM
Waiting...

/taps foot

Simplex3
03-10-2011, 08:50 AM

Lzen
03-10-2011, 08:52 AM
While we're waiting, I have a question. Why did you replace a 50 gal with two 40 gals? Why not just replace it with another 50 gal? Were you needing more hot water capacity? If so, are you Catholic and have like 16 kids? Inquiring minds want to know.

BigMeatballDave
03-10-2011, 08:53 AM
How big is your house? 2 40 gal.? Why not just install a tankless system?

Lzen
03-10-2011, 08:53 AM
WTH is that small hanging tank?

Lzen
03-10-2011, 08:56 AM
I'm no expert on this stuff by any means, so take my opinion with a grain of salt. It appears that you have one hot water heater that heats it and then sends it over to the other hot water heater. Then I assume it goes up into your faucets and shower. I have never seen that kind of setup but I don't know that there's anything wrong with it. Still not understanding why you need two 40 gal heaters.

mikeyis4dcats.

expansion tank....keeps air out of the pipes.

The piping is kind of a clusterfuck, if that's what you're asking.

BigMeatballDave
WTH is that small hanging tank?Good question. My GFs house has a boiler system and she has a hanging tank like that, but not near the water heater.

Simplex3
We have a gigantic soaker tub (that I wish we didn't have) that we couldn't use because you couldn't fill it with hot water. I'd have just turned the heat up on the tank but I have two young kids.

Donger
03-10-2011, 08:57 AM

Looks like an expansion tank. It seems a little odd that it isn't supported, though. Then again, I'm not a plumber.

Lzen