PDA

View Full Version : Life Attn: College/University Instructors. Thinking about teaching...

Mr_Tomahawk
04-13-2011, 03:47 PM
I will try to keep this brief.

I currently work at a design firm as a landscape architect.

I have a bachelors degree in architecture and a masters in landscape architecture. I enjoy my job, but have always toyed with the idea of teaching a few classes relative to my background a few years from now.

I loved the academic side of college and speaking about topics I have a passion about to others who share the same passion would be a delight. I was a TA for a hand-full of classes during my post-graduate tenure and had a blast.

A few questions I have...

I know you don't need a degree in education or anything like that as I had instructors who went from the field straight to instructing. Those were also my favorite instructors as they had the real-world experience. How do you land position as such when you are in the field and are so disconnected from any sort of scholastic environment?

What does a college/university look for on a resume with someone in my position? Anything I should pursue in the meantime to strength my candidacy for an instructing position?

I know this is all relative to location, experience, and what you teach...but what is the average pay per class taught? I have NO clue. I imagine I will start by teaching an evening class until I can pick up a few more classes to make it a full-time gig...if possible.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Would really like to hear from any college/university instructors if we have any on CP.

Sorry that wasn't brief...

Captain Obvious
04-13-2011, 04:54 PM
If you are teaching on a per class basis you are what is called an adjunct instructor. Basically all you have to do is find an institution in need. I have no idea about your area or what it would pay, but it seems that with real world experience you are qualified to adjunct. And typically your schedule needs to be flexible.