PDA

View Full Version : General Politics On racists vs. racial resentment

jAZ
05-16-2011, 09:22 AM
Hi all,

I came across an article that for me reframed my thinking about the politics of racism in our country today. Pretty interesting, and it might have some ramifications for things I've said around here over the years. I thought I would share in case it's enlightening for others in the same way.

Racism hasn't been been my major issue, but I know it's a discussion I've jump into in the past. And at least at one level (that of the savvy politicians or operatives), I've had a fundamental reconsideration of their racially-themed actions.

Anyway, here's the short article.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/plum-line/post/newt-gingrichs-clever-race-mongering/2011/03/04/AF2r7q4G_blog.html#comments

Posted at 10:43 AM ET, 05/16/2011
Newt Gingrich’s clever race-mongering
By Adam Serwer

Newt Gingrich made a bit of news over the weekend on Meet the Press by coming out against Rep. Paul Ryan’s Mecicare plan by describing it as “right-wing social engineering.” But during that same interview, he did something else that may be more worthy of attention: He addressed a series of interesting claims he’s made about the president in a way that reveals how racially coded attacks on the President will be central to his campaign.

Gingrich recently referred to Obama as “the first food stamp president,” and came out in favor of voting requirements that resemble Jim Crow-era poll tests. When asked by David Gregory about such remarks, Gingrich feigned ignorance about their implications:

MR. GREGORY: First of all, you gave a speech in Georgia with language a lot of people think could be coded racially-tinged language, calling the president, the first black president, a food stamp president.

REP. GINGRICH: Oh, come on, David.

MR. GREGORY: What did you mean? What was the point?