PDA

View Full Version : Electronics Time Warner Roadrunner KC


Mr. Laz
07-01-2011, 09:49 PM
anyone else using it?

a few weeks ago i starting getting intermittent disconnects that seem pretty random ... goes down for 2/3 minutes and then comes back up.

I don't need to reboot modem or router for it to start back up

of course time warner can't figure out shit and won't admit that it's a problem on their end.

anyone else?

stonedstooge
07-01-2011, 10:01 PM
No problems in Weston

Okie_Apparition
07-01-2011, 10:31 PM
RP

DRU
07-02-2011, 01:40 AM
When it happens does all of your internet go down or does it seem like just the web browsing won't work? For example, maybe Skype or other messengers stay logged in but when you try and browse www.something.com it just hangs there forever.

If that's the case try switching your DNS servers to use Open DNS. www.opendns.org. At the very bottom right is their DNS servers. Switching to theirs would probably fix the issue and give you some evidence to go back to TW and say, hey, your DNS servers are jacked.

Valiant
07-02-2011, 02:13 AM
anyone else using it?

a few weeks ago i starting getting intermittent disconnects that seem pretty random ... goes down for 2/3 minutes and then comes back up.

I don't need to reboot modem or router for it to start back up

of course time warner can't figure out shit and won't admit that it's a problem on their end.

anyone else?

I had that problem years ago.. They could never figure it out.. We traded out routers and modem.. Ended up being something wrong with the lines, I believe water or some sort was in the main box as our lines are underground.. It would randomly go out, they replaced the lines to the box and we have been good since..

RedDread
07-02-2011, 03:53 AM
anyone else using it?

a few weeks ago i starting getting intermittent disconnects that seem pretty random ... goes down for 2/3 minutes and then comes back up.

I don't need to reboot modem or router for it to start back up

of course time warner can't figure out shit and won't admit that it's a problem on their end.

anyone else?

I had this problem a few months back. They said it was their router for my area (I'm in the northland). They sent a tech out to run diagnostics but they already knew they were going to have to fix or replace the router, they were just trying to decide which. My net would go down for 30 sec-5 mins, usually for periods of 30 minutes to 1 hr. Not specific to any time of the day.

Armyofme
07-02-2011, 06:51 AM
I have TW and it does the same thing for me. I typically reset the modem and it comes back again, but I doubt it's my resetting that brings it to life. It happens enough that I would think I would notice more often when I first jump on my machine.

keg in kc
07-02-2011, 07:07 AM
Yeah, I've had this happen a couple of times, although I've tended to think it was more an issue of my modem finally going tits up (I've had it for 8 years).

KCUnited
07-02-2011, 07:09 AM
I don't have any Internet/Modem problems, but I've had 3 cable boxes and 2 HDMI cables in June for 1 tv.

Mr. Laz
07-02-2011, 10:00 AM
When it happens does all of your internet go down or does it seem like just the web browsing won't work? For example, maybe Skype or other messengers stay logged in but when you try and browse www.something.com (http://www.something.com) it just hangs there forever.

If that's the case try switching your DNS servers to use Open DNS. www.opendns.org (http://www.opendns.org). At the very bottom right is their DNS servers. Switching to theirs would probably fix the issue and give you some evidence to go back to TW and say, hey, your DNS servers are jacked.
no, it's the internet connection that goes out. They have run some kind of 24 hour diagnostic that shows the modem dropping connection.

change modem and even bought a new router

my router was old as hell so i needed to get a new one anyway but still.

They mentioned changing us over to a new server. I don't know what the hell that means.