PDA

View Full Version : Computers Wireless router


rockymtnchief
07-15-2011, 11:43 AM
Need some help here.

I've troubleshot many wireless routers over the years in homes and business and figured them all out, though I don't claim to be a genious. I've found phones, wireless cameras, bad routers, etc... blocking the wireless signals.

Now I have trouble in my own home I can't figure out. My wireless works fine for hours...and then just disappears. The router is 20' away, nothing in between it and my laptop, no close neighbors, it works fine plugged into an ethernet port, no 2.4 phones, etc... I've tried 3 different brands of routers and the same issue. The SSID won't show on the 3 different laptops or my smartphone when the problem pops up. Everything disappears for 30-60 minutes...and poof...works fine for a few hours. It never happens at the same time of day or for the same amount of time.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

BigMeatballDave
07-15-2011, 11:47 AM
That's very strange. The Wi-Fi at work blanks out every now and again, but nothing like this.

QuikSsurfer
07-15-2011, 12:00 PM
What kind of router is it?
Are the computers/laptops all set to have windows manage their wireless connection?

rockymtnchief
07-15-2011, 01:31 PM
What kind of router is it?
Are the computers/laptops all set to have windows manage their wireless connection?

Currently, I have the Zoom set up. It's wireless to one laptop which is managed by Windows.

When troubleshooting with the other laptops, I didn't have the wireless managed by Windows. Still no luck there.

kepp
07-15-2011, 03:02 PM
Does the connection still drop if you're hard wired to the router?

rockymtnchief
07-15-2011, 03:08 PM
Does the connection still drop if you're hard wired to the router?

No...I wish it did. Then I'd know what to troubleshoot. The whole SSID just disappears. Even my smartphone can't find it.

RippedmyFlesh
07-16-2011, 06:30 PM
What model you using? Need more info to help. You have dsl? Tried another channel?

rockymtnchief
07-16-2011, 07:03 PM
Currently using a Zoom router and I've tried different channels on all the routers (Zoom, Netgear, Linksys). It's DSL less than 800' from the CO. The DSL is fine. My desk top never loses link, just the wireless from time to time at random times of the day.

bevischief
07-16-2011, 07:26 PM
Do you live in a rural area? I use to have problems till I had the power company install a surge protector on their side. I lost a TV and a PC power supply and had funny problems till they did it.

rockymtnchief
07-16-2011, 07:44 PM
Do you live in a rural area? I use to have problems till I had the power company install a surge protector on their side. I lost a TV and a PC power supply and had funny problems till they did it.

I live in downtown Big Timber Montana. I had the power guy check everything after a pick-up drove through the front of the house a few weeks ago. New tap, meter and ground.

RippedmyFlesh
07-16-2011, 07:54 PM
No close neighbors? My next step would be changing security.Turn it off completely for a while.With no one close by at least you don't have to worry about free loaders on an unsecured network.

bevischief
07-16-2011, 07:58 PM
Try directly connecting to the router to see if you still have the same problem. Being in down town no telling what is in the walls to disrupt the signal.

rockymtnchief
07-16-2011, 08:12 PM
No close neighbors? My next step would be changing security.Turn it off completely for a while.With no one close by at least you don't have to worry about free loaders on an unsecured network.
I ran it without security on the other two routers with the same trouble.

Try directly connecting to the router to see if you still have the same problem. Being in down town no telling what is in the walls to disrupt the signal.

Did that and it works fine. I thought about it being something in the walls, but there's nothing else running in the house when it happens. There's no walls in between the laptop and router. It also seems to work with any appliance running. It just quits when it feels like it.

I'm to the point of just installing a jack closer and see if that helps. It shouldn't make a difference, but I did it once for a subscriber and it worked.

bevischief
07-16-2011, 08:16 PM
I ran it without security on the other two routers with the same trouble.



Did that and it works fine. I thought about it being something in the walls, but there's nothing else running in the house when it happens. There's no walls in between the laptop and router. It also seems to work with any appliance running. It just quits when it feels like it.

I'm to the point of just installing a jack closer and see if that helps. It shouldn't make a difference, but I did it once for a subscriber and it worked.

How old is the building that you live in?

bevischief
07-16-2011, 08:17 PM
Also who is the provider of your internet? Is it cable, DSL... etc?

rockymtnchief
07-16-2011, 08:25 PM
Also who is the provider of your internet? Is it cable, DSL... etc?

It's the company I work for. It's DSL.

I've troubleshot this shit for 7 years and never left a trouble unfixed. I've ran into some strange shit blocking signals before, but none apply here. I was hoping someone would tell me aluminum curtain rods were the trouble...or some whacked crap like that.:D

Anyway...thanks to all for replying.

rockymtnchief
07-16-2011, 08:28 PM
How old is the building that you live in?

Not sure, (I just moved and I'm renting until I build or buy) but the place was re-wired and plumbed 3 years ago.

bevischief
07-16-2011, 08:37 PM
Is there any Fluorescent lights in your place or do the data lines go anywhere near them?

rockymtnchief
07-16-2011, 08:43 PM
Nope. Plus, I rarely have the lights on. Generally, it's an alarm clock, router, tv and Directv reciever on in the house. Nothing else. If I run the microwave/washer/dryer/etc... it doesn't effect it. The wireless/SSID just randomly disappears. Never at the same time of day and for different durations of time.

bevischief
07-16-2011, 08:48 PM
There is something going on but without being there at this point I have no idea.