View Full Version : Music Old CD's to MP3

09-09-2011, 04:52 PM
I have a ton of music burned onto recordable CD's that I have not used for years. I want to copy them to an SD card so that I can have all of my music on a small device.

When I attempt to drag a song off the CD into a folder, it makes a shortcut instead. Help me out guys.

I have some impossible to find Foo Fighters, Incubus, etc. acoustic masterpieces that need to be saved!

***Most of these CD's were burned at a high bitrate compaired to MP3. If I can preserve the SQ that would be fantastic!*****

09-09-2011, 08:17 PM
Try something like this: http://freecdripper.net/free_cd_ripper.html

09-09-2011, 08:19 PM
Hope the CD's are still readable but depending upon the quality of the CD-Rs I would expect a fair bit of data loss if they are > 5 years old. Real pressed CDs don't have this issue.

BTW have you held down CTL while dragging them? Or selecting them all and then right clicking on them and say copy....then paste in the destination folder?

09-09-2011, 08:22 PM
Are the CDs in CD format, or are they MP3s on a CD?

09-09-2011, 08:43 PM
I'm assuming that you have windows media player....just use that.

09-09-2011, 08:47 PM
I'm assuming that you have windows media player....just use that.

This is your best bet. Let Media Player Rip them to your music folder then copy them to your SD card.

09-09-2011, 08:50 PM
If you have iTunes, it will automatically rip your CD music to mp4.
Also, if you have Windows Media Player, you could also rip your CD music into mp3 (Open Windows Media Player --> Tools --> Options --> Rip Music --> check "Rip CD Music Automatically.")

If you are looking to convert all different music files into mp3, then use:
"Any Audio Converter."


Hope this helps.

09-09-2011, 08:59 PM
I'm a big fan of http://www.freerip.com/.

09-09-2011, 09:08 PM
Thanks everyone, I will take a "rip" at it later.

:facepalm: Wow that's a bad pun.

09-09-2011, 09:29 PM
yeah. windows media player.

09-10-2011, 01:41 PM
Thanks guys, Media Player has a "CD to Disk" option. I feel stupid for not noticing it before.