PDA

View Full Version : Electronics Sony Blu Ray Player suddenly has streaming problem, any ideas tech guys?


Barrymore50
10-26-2011, 11:02 PM
:doh!:Short story, made long: I have a Sony Blu Ray Network Player (SBD-S280) that I use to watch Netflix. I've had the player for about 2 months and it's worked really well--it streams Netflix, YouTube, etc. just fine. BUT, tonight when I got home, I turned on the player and it started doing a network (or application? I can't remember exactly what the screen said) update, which I've never noticed it do before. It took about 5-10 minutes and it went from "0 to 9" loading on a bar across the TV screen. Everything seemed fine when it was done, but now I'm noticing a really annoying problem with Netflix: if you hit the "return" button on the remote (which I use a lot) or if the show you're watching comes to an end, you get either a black screen or a "no signal" message. It can't seem to get back to the Netflix menu/movie choice screens without going black. Then you have to turn off the player, turn it back on and go back to Netflix. I tried doing the "factory reset" and retyping in my info, but nothing's working. I'm still able to watch Netflix (once I get to a show or movie that I can watch for awhile), but this is a real pain.
Do any of you smart tech guys have any ideas? Is there a way to reset the machine to the way it was working before tonight's update?

Saulbadguy
10-27-2011, 03:52 PM
AIDS.

Deberg_1990
10-28-2011, 11:09 AM
:doh!:Short story, made long: I have a Sony Blu Ray Network Player (SBD-S280) that I use to watch Netflix. I've had the player for about 2 months and it's worked really well--it streams Netflix, YouTube, etc. just fine. BUT, tonight when I got home, I turned on the player and it started doing a network (or application? I can't remember exactly what the screen said) update, which I've never noticed it do before. It took about 5-10 minutes and it went from "0 to 9" loading on a bar across the TV screen. Everything seemed fine when it was done, but now I'm noticing a really annoying problem with Netflix: if you hit the "return" button on the remote (which I use a lot) or if the show you're watching comes to an end, you get either a black screen or a "no signal" message. It can't seem to get back to the Netflix menu/movie choice screens without going black. Then you have to turn off the player, turn it back on and go back to Netflix. I tried doing the "factory reset" and retyping in my info, but nothing's working. I'm still able to watch Netflix (once I get to a show or movie that I can watch for awhile), but this is a real pain.
Do any of you smart tech guys have any ideas? Is there a way to reset the machine to the way it was working before tonight's update?


Some sort of flaw in the update software obviously. Id give the Sony techs a call for help. Hopefully there is a way to roll back the update.

Barrymore50
10-28-2011, 11:42 AM
I called the Sony helpline and the lady said that there had been "many calls" about this problem in the last couple days. There were also people on the Sony Forum site that had the same thing happen. Hopefully they come up with a fix for it, either that or a lot of people are going to have to reset their players. Whatever the case, somebody messed up when they wrote the new update.