PDA

View Full Version : Money Office Manager or Purchasing Manager

crispystl420
02-14-2012, 05:41 PM
I'm an office manager and I have an opportunity to take a job at my current employer as the purchasing manager and develop an entirely new purchasing system. As purchasing manager I would handle all of the purchasing, manage and negotiate all of our contracts with vendors and track costs. As office manager I handle all of the financial transactions, payroll, and take care of all the marketing and advertising. The purchasing manager, although somewhat of a lateral move, would be about a 10% increase in pay. What would you do? If I take the purchasing job my resume would be broader but i'd have less experience as an office manager as well. I'm not sure what I should do here.

BigRichard
02-14-2012, 06:05 PM
Antifreeze?

crispystl420
02-14-2012, 06:06 PM
Antifreeze?

I'll consider it.

Bwana
02-14-2012, 06:20 PM
Both of those jobs would kick my ass. I can't stand being behind a desk for more than an hour at a time, that's just not how I'm built. I have to be out there cutting deals, and solving critical refinery, mining and power plant issues. I guess if I had to pick one of those gigs, I would go with purchasing.

58-4ever
02-14-2012, 06:24 PM
is there any kind of bonus structure? 10 percent is a pretty good pay bump. Although the office manager seems like more impactful to the overall company.

My advice: You should stay in the office manager role and ask for a raise.

crispystl420
02-14-2012, 06:35 PM
is there any kind of bonus structure? 10 percent is a pretty good pay bump. Although the office manager seems like more impactful to the overall company.

My advice: You should stay in the office manager role and ask for a raise.

No bonuses and there is potential for more money as the office manager. The challenge of implementing a new system is calling out to me though.

crispystl420
02-14-2012, 06:38 PM