PDA

View Full Version : Life Middle of the Road Booze...

InChiefsHell
02-27-2012, 11:27 AM
OK, so I'm not some guy who will drink lighter fluid mixed with Coke, but I also don't feel like I want to spend a fortune on a bottle of booze that I'll probably kill in a weekend. SO, CPers, what is your "middle of the road" booze brands? The stuff that you are not ashamed to let people know you have in your liquor cabinet, but at the same time it's not something you'd brag about either?

For me:

Bourbon - Evan Williams. It's a really solid bourbon which IMO is better than Beam by a mile and is about 5 bucks cheaper for a bottle.

Gin - Just discovered New Amsterdam Gin. Since I'm new to Gin, I don't really know what "good" gin is like, but I've had the Bombay Saphire and the Tanqueray, and this stuff for about 14 bucks a bottle is quite good IMO. Great martini's. My dad is a much bigger gin guy and he was impressed so...

Rum - I used to work at the Qwest Center Omaha, and we used to make rum drinks with Cruzan. This shit is pretty good. The white rum is better than the dark, and I haven't tried their Spiced Rum yet, but mix their stuff with any kind of juice and it's fantastic. Again, way cheaper than Bacardi or Captain, and just as good as far as I'm concerned.

Vodka - OK, I don't really drink vodka. I found New Amsterdam makes Vodka as well as Gin, and it seems pretty good to me. But I don't know much about Vodka, so there ya go.

All of these bottles are in the 12 - 15$ range and are quite good. Not cheap, not pricey...

So, whatchoo got CP?

mikeyis4dcats.
02-27-2012, 11:28 AM
Stoli

tooge
02-27-2012, 11:30 AM
sobieski is a good middle of the road vodka. I agree with you on the Cruzan, but I'm fond of Sailor Jerry (call it sailor jelly) too.

Okie_Apparition
02-27-2012, 11:33 AM
I tried some rotgut rum & anything tasted better
First shot or two of bottom of the barrel dregs & anything after is awesome

InChiefsHell
02-27-2012, 11:34 AM