PDA

View Full Version : Chiefs Dontari Poe, Eric Winston and the rest of the Chiefs draft picks and free agent signe


royr17
05-01-2012, 02:24 PM
http://www.kcchiefs.com/news/article-2/Chiefs-issue-jersey-numbers/14e9a943-ff3b-40ef-8a94-4e5c85b71bb5

Dontari Poe, Eric Winston and the rest of the Chiefs draft picks and free agent signees have their jerseys ready

Chiefs first-round draft pick Dontari Poe (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/dontari-poe/3600e203-c6b0-44ff-be92-147c1f6a39db/) will be wearing No. 92 when he reports to rookie mini-camp on May 11<sup>th</sup>. Poe previously wore No. 74 at the University of Memphis.

Kansas City’s equipment staff assigned official jersey numbers to the Chiefs 2012 Draft Class and free agent signees on Tuesday. The 15 rookie free agents who signed with the team Monday afternoon have yet to have their numbers issued.

Several number changes for the 2012 season were also announced.

Veteran Free Agents
CB <nobr>Stanford Routt (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/stanford-routt/64ab5da7-db6e-46af-a964-b5e2188103b2/)</nobr> - #26
Routt keeps the same number he wore in Oakland. Wearing #26 for the Chiefs last season was RB Jackie Battle.

RB <nobr>Peyton Hillis (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/peyton-hillis/56046832-53d8-46a9-952b-50e0a2abf6ac/)</nobr> - #40
Hills keeps #40 after striking a deal with FB <nobr>Shane Bannon (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/shane-bannon/4461cadc-1ff4-46d4-a8b9-03bb913e75b5/)</nobr>, who will move into #38.

T <nobr>Eric Winston (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/eric-winston/ac95393a-b5ff-420d-a282-00c616c4d69f/)</nobr> - #74
Winston wore #73 in Houston, which currently belongs to the player slated to start next to him in RG <nobr>Jon Asamoah (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/jon-asamoah/53246140-96db-459a-a849-841037469dc3/)</nobr>. The last player to wear #74 for the Chiefs was OL Lucas Patterson, who will move into #77.

TE <nobr>Kevin Boss (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/kevin-boss/8de05fc1-08f9-4a65-a675-168625911569/)</nobr> - #80
Boss wore #89 in New York before wearing #87 in Oakland. He’ll switch to #80 in Kansas City. WR Jon Baldwin wears #89 for the Chiefs, but #87 is currently unissued. The last Chiefs player to wear #80 was TE Cody Slate during the 2011 preseason.

QB <nobr>Brady Quinn (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/brady-quinn/2d82435a-73a7-46ea-9a71-ec52f373a53c/)</nobr> - #9
Quinn wore #10 in Cleveland before switching to #9 in Denver. He’ll continue to wear #9 in Kansas City, which was last worn by WR Josue Paul during the 2011 preseason. WR <nobr>Terrance Copper (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/terrance-copper/a2e41f57-62e8-4f7b-8cc8-19dffee2f025/)</nobr> currently wears #10.

CB <nobr>Jacques Reeves (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/jacques-reeves/c5c34c81-f163-434c-9061-24ecae9f929c/)</nobr> - #35
Reeves wore #35 in Houston and Dallas before joining the Chiefs. The last Chiefs player to wear #35 was S Ricky Price during the 2011 preseason.

DB <nobr>Mikail Baker (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/mikail-baker/ef90317c-7488-4370-aab3-713f43f771cf/)</nobr> - #39
Baker will slide into the jersey vacated by the free agency departure of CB Brandon Carr.

S <nobr>Kyle McCarthy (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/kyle-mccarthy/8d13dbd4-b8f6-4c85-93fe-27115758e79c/)</nobr> - #41
McCarthy wore #34 for the Broncos, but that jersey belongs to CB <nobr>Travis Daniels (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/travis-daniels/f5768ab2-8696-4a98-935e-74e7f3426f04/)</nobr> in Kansas City. He’ll wear #41 instead, which was last worn by DB Javes Lewis during the 2011 preseason.

WR <nobr>Zeke Markshausen (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/zeke-markshausen/0a00a593-82d9-4243-9c43-8a10adc4764a/)</nobr> - #5
Markshausen wore #5 for the Chiefs during training camp last season. The jersey number went unissued after he was released.

Number Changes
OL Lucas Patterson - #77
Patterson wore #74 last season, which will now be worn by T Eric Winston. The last Chiefs player to wear #77 was NT Kelly Gregg.

FB Shane Bannon - #38
Peyton Hillis must have cut a deal with Bannon. Hillis moves into Bannon’s #40 and Bannon will now wear #38. The last Chiefs players to wear #38 were FB Tervaris Johnson and DB Mario Russell during the 2011 preseason.

QB <nobr>Ricky Stanzi (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/ricky-stanzi/16247b7b-e4dd-424f-a7a5-231824fbb9e7/)</nobr> - #12
After wearing #12 on his practice jersey for the majority of 2011, Stanzi will make a permanent switch from #13 this year. The last player to wear #12 for the Chiefs was QB Brodie Croyle.

Draft Picks
NT Dontari Poe - #92
Poe wore #74 in college, but it appears Eric Winston got first-dibs on that number in KC after striking a deal with OL Lucas Patterson. The last player to wear #92 for the Chiefs was DE Wallace Gilberry.

OL <nobr>Jeff Allen (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/jeff-allen/7404bc31-58e4-4e68-ae92-5cafed40a93d/)</nobr> - #71
Allen keeps his college number. The last player to wear #71 for the Chiefs was T Jared Gaither.

OL <nobr>Donald Stephenson (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/donald-stephenson/6ff85556-0b5b-4923-acd8-6150f21a4ab6/)</nobr> - #79
At Oklahoma, Stephenson wore #59. LB <nobr>Jovan Belcher (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/jovan-belcher/b2812b5e-9a93-4c3a-afa2-e14910a18c81/)</nobr> currently wears #59 for the Chiefs. The last players to wear #79 in Kansas City were DL Harold Ayodele and OL Butch Lewis during the 2011 preseason.

WR <nobr>Devon Wylie (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/devon-wylie/96d81289-e28b-48fc-9494-ef9c1f50feab/)</nobr> - #83
As if Wylie didn’t need any more Wes Welker comparisons? Now he’ll wear the same number. Wylie wore #7 at Fresno State, which is worn by QB <nobr>Matt Cassel (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/matt-cassel/5fbc174a-bfb6-45f9-9559-0bb09433efd4/)</nobr> in Kansas City. The last player to wear #83 for the Chiefs was WR Jerheme Urban.

DB De’Quan Menzie - #49
Menzie wore #24 at Alabama, which currently belongs to CB <nobr>Brandon Flowers (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/brandon-flowers/02469b8c-6049-4dc6-b4fe-180368f3ef65/)</nobr> in Kansas City. The last player to wear #49 for the Chiefs was S Sabby Piscitelli (2011 preseason). Piscitelli later switched to #42 for the regular season.

RB <nobr>Cyrus Gray (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/cyrus-gray/455769b0-cfff-47dd-94cc-982f02c77d7c/)</nobr> - #42
Gray wore #32 for the Aggies, but that number currently belongs to RB <nobr>Shaun Draughn (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/shaun-draughn/ab3ce5be-3add-49e3-a0cd-d77b13981e11/)</nobr>. S Sabby Piscitelli was the last player to wear #42 for the Chiefs.

DL <nobr>Jerome Long (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/jerome-long/a1826a98-bb00-4fa8-a190-d3731a06843b/)</nobr> - #60
Long wore #94 at San Diego State, but that number belongs to DE <nobr>Tyson Jackson (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/tyson-jackson/b6f72896-4ed2-4de5-9634-ab82734e99ae/)</nobr> in Kansas City. Jersey #60 will be shared between Long and OL <nobr>Rob Bruggeman (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/rob-bruggeman/d19a3fe4-9a5f-4a67-9608-28b02cd80351/)</nobr>.

WR <nobr>Junior Hemingway (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/junior-hemingway/ef36eec5-9eaa-4763-a3d1-27af7537c896/)</nobr> - #88
Hemmingway wore #21 at Michigan, but that number belongs to CB <nobr>Javier Arenas (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/javier-arenas/aa5023df-84b0-420f-838e-70dd8607adcd/)</nobr> in Kansas City. The last Chiefs player to wear #88 was TE Anthony Becht.

suds79
05-01-2012, 02:28 PM
Cyrus, #42? You should revolt man.

Looking slower with that already.

rico
05-01-2012, 02:28 PM
Ahh man, I liked Stanzi wearing #13.

They should have cut Cassel so Wylie could keep his #7 number from college. Funny that he has the same # as Welker now though.

Urc Burry
05-01-2012, 02:33 PM
Cyrus, #42? You should revolt man.

Looking slower with that already.

I'm sure he will get #32 by the regular season

Rooster
05-01-2012, 02:45 PM
Ahh man, I liked Stanzi wearing #13.

They should have cut Cassel so Wylie could keep his #7 number from college. Funny that he has the same # as Welker now though.

Me too. :mad:

Micjones
05-01-2012, 02:50 PM
Enough with passing Gonzo's number around.
Although, Hemingway is built like a Tight End.

DaKCMan AP
05-01-2012, 02:54 PM
Enough with passing Gonzo's number around.
Although, Hemingway is built like a Tight End.

He chose to leave. Why shouldn't we assign his # to others?

Discuss Thrower
05-01-2012, 02:57 PM
Makes sense that Stanzi switched to 12 considering it comes free of charge this year.

SNR
05-01-2012, 02:57 PM
Ahh man, I liked Stanzi wearing #13.

They should have cut Cassel so Wylie could keep his #7 number from college. Funny that he has the same # as Welker now though.
Same. So many QBs seem to irrationally avoid that number. They have a selection of 19 numbers, so the odds that a QB will pick a specific one of those numbers is low, but still. Just aren't a lot of #13s out there.

Props to Kurt Warner and Dan Marino for giving that number some love.

keg in kc
05-01-2012, 02:58 PM
Hemingway's built more like a running back than a tight end. He's got a shorter, stockier build. It was always a little confusing seeing #21 split out.

rico
05-01-2012, 03:42 PM
At kcchiefs.com, the picture for the "Players' Numbers" article is a mannequin looking thing wearing the number 12. Coincidence.......???????? Hmmmm..... :hmmm: It'd be nice if they were trying to tell us something with that.

ILChief
05-01-2012, 03:55 PM
Ahh man, I liked Stanzi wearing #13.

They should have cut Cassel so Wylie could keep his #7 number from college. Funny that he has the same # as Welker now though.

Same. So many QBs seem to irrationally avoid that number. They have a selection of 19 numbers, so the odds that a QB will pick a specific one of those numbers is low, but still. Just aren't a lot of #13s out there.

Props to Kurt Warner and Dan Marino for giving that number some love.


Don't forget Steve Bono

Munson
05-01-2012, 04:04 PM
WR <nobr>Junior Hemingway (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/junior-hemingway/ef36eec5-9eaa-4763-a3d1-27af7537c896/)</nobr> - #88
Hemmingway wore #21 at Michigan, but that number belongs to CB <nobr>Javier Arenas (http://www.kcchiefs.com/team/roster/javier-arenas/aa5023df-84b0-420f-838e-70dd8607adcd/)</nobr> in Kansas City. The last Chiefs player to wear #88 was TE Anthony Becht.

Blasphemy!

Hoover
05-01-2012, 04:10 PM
Cassel should have changed numbers, might help hold off the boos for a few games.

Strongside
05-01-2012, 04:13 PM
Cassel should have changed numbers, might help hold off the boos for a few games.
I think it would go something like this...

Drunk: "Who's this new guy? Number 5...? He's way better than Cassel! Look how much time he has in the pocket. Look at that catch!"

Announcer: "Matt Cassel with the pass to Kevin Boss."

Drunk: "What!? Cassel!? Fuck! BOOOOOOOO!!!"

Announcer: "That's good for a Kansas City Chiefs...."

Drunk: "BOO...First Dowwwwwn!...OOOOOO!"

rico
05-01-2012, 04:15 PM
Don't forget Steve Bono

I was starting to forget about Steve Bono until this number change. :mad:

Mojo Jojo
05-01-2012, 04:29 PM
This thread means nothing...remember George Breet's original number? No...it only matters once you do something wearing that number.

Extra Point
05-01-2012, 04:29 PM
I think it would go something like this...

Drunk: "Who's this new guy? Number 5...? He's way better than Cassel! Look how much time he has in the pocket. Look at that catch!"

Announcer: "Matt Cassel with the pass to Kevin Boss."

Drunk: "What!? Cassel!? ****! BOOOOOOOO!!!"

Announcer: "That's good for a Kansas City Chiefs...."

Drunk: "BOO...First Dowwwwwn!...OOOOOO!"

BooREP! The drunk just burped.

MatriculatingHank
05-01-2012, 04:34 PM
I will always associate #42 with Johnny Robinson

jspchief
05-01-2012, 05:49 PM
This thread means nothing...remember George Breet's original number? No...it only matters once you do something wearing that number.

Hell, I don't even remember George Breet, let alone any of his numbers.

Willie Lanier
05-01-2012, 05:54 PM
I will always associate #42 with Johnny Robinson

Funny I always associate that number with Jackie Robinson

Willie Lanier
05-01-2012, 05:58 PM
I will always associate #42 with Johnny Robinson

But I'm sure Johnny had his moments too

BossChief
05-01-2012, 06:06 PM
Cool. Now we have our own #12 and #83... hopefully they closely resemble the Patriots versions of those position players.

Am I the only one here that feels it's big time disrespectful to let any old guy wear Tony Gs #88?

BossChief
05-01-2012, 06:09 PM
Also, I was kinda hoping they would have Allen wear #69.

seclark
05-01-2012, 06:11 PM
Am I the only one here that feels it's big time disrespectful to let any old guy wear Tony Gs #88?

probably not.
sec

Mr. Arrowhead
05-01-2012, 06:38 PM
dam I got buy a new Stanzi jersey now, since hes switch from #13 to #12

Dick Bull
05-01-2012, 07:02 PM
Cool. Now we have our own #12 and #83... hopefully they closely resemble the Patriots versions of those position players.

Am I the only one here that feels it's big time disrespectful to let any old guy wear Tony Gs #88?

Why do we owe any sort of respect to Tony G? He's the one who wanted out and he got his wish. That pays back everything he's done for us.

mlyonsd
05-01-2012, 07:08 PM
Why do we owe any sort of respect to Tony G? He's the one who wanted out and he got his wish. That pays back everything he's done for us.This.

DaKCMan AP
05-01-2012, 07:21 PM
Am I the only one here that feels it's big time disrespectful to let any old guy wear Tony Gs #88?

Yes. F him.

mlyonsd
05-01-2012, 07:22 PM
Yes. F him.And this.

BigChiefFan
05-01-2012, 09:02 PM
There's only so many numbers and 53 players on each roster. I could careless if another player uses an old player's number.

KCrockaholic
05-01-2012, 09:07 PM
The ONLY Chiefs number I'd ever care about seeing another player wear would be #16. Luckily it's retired, and has zero chance of being un-retired.

Tribal Warfare
05-01-2012, 09:23 PM
The ONLY Chiefs number I'd ever care about seeing another player wear would be #16. Luckily it's retired, and has zero chance of being un-retired.

Of course it would takr a major set of balls to be a QB and pick #19 while on the Chiefs.

chefsos
05-01-2012, 09:25 PM
With the 90 man roster and all the numbers the Chiefs have retired, officially and unofficially, there's gonna be a lot of digit sharing going on. Maybe they should just give everyone #7 in camp...

Chief3188
05-01-2012, 09:52 PM
Cassel should have changed numbers, might help hold off the boos for a few games.

I agree he should have changed numbers. Phone numbers anyway. Perhaps something with an Alaskan zip code

Chief3188
05-01-2012, 09:53 PM
I was starting to forget about Steve Bono until this number change. :mad:

How could you forget about Bono? We are currently watching a Bono repeat now in Cassel.

Chief3188
05-01-2012, 09:57 PM
dam I got buy a new Stanzi jersey now, since hes switch from #13 to #12

Just do it ghetto style and unthread part of the 3 to make it look like a 2 :)