PDA

View Full Version : Electronics PC DVR question


Guru
05-08-2012, 10:50 PM
I'm going to start using my PC as a DVR. What software should I be looking into for this. I already have WMC of course but it only records in .wmp format. Do any of them record in mp4 or avi formats? Is there a way to have them autoconvert to those formats after recording? Finally, what is the easiest way to cut out the commercials?

Thanks

Guru
05-09-2012, 03:59 PM
Oh come on. Nobody uses their PC as a DVR? I have a hard time believing that. Clay, surely you have a preferred software for this.

pr_capone
05-09-2012, 06:19 PM
Ok... the last time I used my PC as a PVR was AGES ago but I can tell you this. Windows Media Center is a damn fine piece of software to manage your TV/Recordings. The downside is that because it is made by Windows, they play along with the whole DRM thing which means you cannot move the files about.

I used SageTV for a long while and loved it. It encoded to h.264 which can be played back on other PCs and can be converted into a DVD or such.

Guru
05-09-2012, 06:29 PM
Ok... the last time I used my PC as a PVR was AGES ago but I can tell you this. Windows Media Center is a damn fine piece of software to manage your TV/Recordings. The downside is that because it is made by Windows, they play along with the whole DRM thing which means you cannot move the files about.

I used SageTV for a long while and loved it. It encoded to h.264 which can be played back on other PCs and can be converted into a DVD or such.

That is why I want to avoid WMC. I'll check Sage out. Thanks.

Guru
05-09-2012, 07:13 PM
Crap. Sage was purchased by Google and they are not allowing new signups.

Fruit Ninja
05-09-2012, 07:35 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815116074&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-_-pla-_-NA-_-NA

i have that. I use it to stream video games, but you can also use it for recording tv shows as well. It only uses component cables though, no HDMI, but it will record nicely in 720.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NucsUdxpufU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Me playing street fighter. In 720 it looks good.

Guru
05-09-2012, 08:36 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815116074&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-_-pla-_-NA-_-NA

i have that. I use it to stream video games, but you can also use it for recording tv shows as well. It only uses component cables though, no HDMI, but it will record nicely in 720.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NucsUdxpufU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Me playing street fighter. In 720 it looks good.
already purchased the unit I will be using. Just looking for good software that I won't have to go through 3 steps to get it into the format I need. anything that will record in avi, mkv or mp4 will do nicely.

Fruit Ninja
05-09-2012, 08:39 PM
already purchased the unit I will be using. Just looking for good software that I won't have to go through 3 steps to get it into the format I need. anything that will record in avi, mkv or mp4 will do nicely.

usually the software that comes with it, has pretty easy recording. The Hauppage one i have, is pretty easy, just click on the program, and it says record, and hit it.

loochy
05-10-2012, 04:07 PM
For anyone reading this thread looking for further advice on this (I know the OP already bought his capture device)...

I'd go with this card..I've got it and it works great and records everything in HD if you use the component cable workaround.

It works well with WMC

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815116065

scorpio
05-10-2012, 04:46 PM
For anyone reading this thread looking for further advice on this (I know the OP already bought his capture device)...

I'd go with this card..I've got it and it works great and records everything in HD if you use the component cable workaround.

It works well with WMC

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815116065

I have this one too, it's basically just a PCI version of the box Fruit Ninja posted with an added HDMI input. My only complaint is there's no HDMI passthrough, but cable television is only 1080i anyway, so it doesn't hurt anything to use component. Otherwise I love it.

loochy
05-10-2012, 04:56 PM
I have this one too, it's basically just a PCI version of the box Fruit Ninja posted with an added HDMI input. My only complaint is there's no HDMI passthrough, but cable television is only 1080i anyway, so it doesn't hurt anything to use component. Otherwise I love it.

Apparently the Colossus is less buggy than the HD-PVR (external box) version. I ran across that info when I was doing research in what capture device to buy. People were saying that the HD-PVR locked up quite often.