PDA

View Full Version : Electronics Different wifi problem


Guru
05-31-2012, 07:41 PM
Why would adding a switch to my network cause my wifi to start flaking out?

My previous setup was a Netgear N300 and a DLink 524 (used as a switch with no DHCP). I added a new switch to the N300 in a star configuration. Ever since, I have had a problem with the wifi connection dropping every other day or so. It's getting damned annoying and makes no sense to me whatsoever.

Sometimes all I have to do is reboot the computer but others I have to reboot the router too.

My wired devices have no problems at all though.

SLAG
05-31-2012, 10:43 PM
Maybe your Neighbor got a new WIFI Router and is cramping your style

Guru
05-31-2012, 11:18 PM
It is just bizarre to me that when I add a switch my wifi goes wacky.

pr_capone
06-01-2012, 12:31 AM
Are you losing connectivity at the computer or the router?

What I mean. Do your wireless devices no longer see the router... or, does your computer say it is connected but local access only?

Guru
06-01-2012, 01:00 AM
Are you losing connectivity at the computer or the router?

What I mean. Do your wireless devices no longer see the router... or, does your computer say it is connected but local access only?

I thought it was just my laptop for a while but I couldn't even get my tablet on it today.

But it is just too odd that the wired works fine but the wireless drops.

pr_capone
06-01-2012, 05:04 AM
Which of the following is happening?

1. Your wireless devices don't see your wireless network
2. Your wireless devices sees your wireless network but refuse to connect
3. Your wireless devices connect to the router but cannot have no internet access

jspchief
06-01-2012, 05:48 AM
Are you sure its the switch? Tried removing it and the problem goes away?

Best to eliminate coincidence.

Guru
06-01-2012, 06:06 AM
Which of the following is happening?

1. Your wireless devices don't see your wireless network
2. Your wireless devices sees your wireless network but refuse to connect
3. Your wireless devices connect to the router but cannot have no internet access

generally it is 3. They will be connected for awhile, sometimes a day or two, and then it will just stop and show no internet connection until I reboot the laptop, router or both.

Guru
06-01-2012, 06:12 AM
Are you sure its the switch? Tried removing it and the problem goes away?

Best to eliminate coincidence.

I tried it last night but I need to give it more time to screw up than just one night.

pr_capone
06-01-2012, 06:29 AM
generally it is 3. They will be connected for awhile, sometimes a day or two, and then it will just stop and show no internet connection until I reboot the laptop, router or both.

first thing I would do is go into the router settings and change the channel that your router is working on. it is possible that something is causing interference and simply changing the channel can keep the connection from dropping.

Guru
06-01-2012, 04:30 PM
first thing I would do is go into the router settings and change the channel that your router is working on. it is possible that something is causing interference and simply changing the channel can keep the connection from dropping.

That wasn't it. I had already tried changing to two different channels.

QuikSsurfer
06-01-2012, 06:32 PM
I thought it was just my laptop for a while but I couldn't even get my tablet on it today.

But it is just too odd that the wired works fine but the wireless drops.

Not that weird. You should now know that the router is the point of failure here.. These things just go out -- especially netgears. Pickup a new router after you've tired yourself of patching it with resets and firmware updates.

pr_capone
06-01-2012, 06:35 PM
Not that weird. You should now know that the router is the point of failure here.. These things just go out -- especially netgears. Pickup a new router after you've tired yourself of patching it with resets and firmware updates.

Netgear sucks monkey balls. The only brand that is worse, IMO, is Belkin. Pick up a Cisco Linksys router if you do wind up getting new equip.

QuikSsurfer
06-01-2012, 06:38 PM
Netgear sucks monkey balls. The only brand that is worse, IMO, is Belkin. Pick up a Cisco Linksys router if you do wind up getting new equip.

Belkin towers over Netgear, IMO.. Cisco/Linksys >> Belkin >> Netgear.

I've had to replace each of these brands at some point - even enterprise level equipment (Cisco, 3Com, etc). Just one of those things. At this point, it's best to buy the product with the longest warranty.

QuikSsurfer
06-01-2012, 06:41 PM
I've had this router for 5 years now and it still works like new (albeit custom firmware). I've since upgraded but I have this setup at my parents house now.
Linksys Wrt54g are fucking tanks.
http://g-ecx.images-amazon.com/images/G/01/ciu/3a/b3/14fc92c008a0232becc53010.L.jpg

Guru
06-01-2012, 07:16 PM
Not that weird. You should now know that the router is the point of failure here.. These things just go out -- especially netgears. Pickup a new router after you've tired yourself of patching it with resets and firmware updates.

Just had the router replaced under warranty a month ago.

Guru
06-01-2012, 07:17 PM
I've had this router for 5 years now and it still works like new (albeit custom firmware). I've since upgraded but I have this setup at my parents house now.
Linksys Wrt54g are ****ing tanks.
http://g-ecx.images-amazon.com/images/G/01/ciu/3a/b3/14fc92c008a0232becc53010.L.jpg

Hell, the router I am using as a switch is a 6 year old Dlink 524. The only reason I don't use it as a router is because the range on it stinks.

Lzen
06-01-2012, 07:30 PM
DLink DI524? I had one of those years ago. It worked okay for awhile then started giving me troubles all the time.

Also, Linksys WRT 54G is a great router, albeit a little outdated.

Guru
06-01-2012, 07:35 PM
DLink DI524? I had one of those years ago. It worked okay for awhile then started giving me troubles all the time.

Also, Linksys WRT 54G is a great router, albeit a little outdated.

I can't justify $55 for an outdated router. Plus, I prefer the range of wireless N.

nstygma
06-01-2012, 07:54 PM
~

Guru
06-01-2012, 07:57 PM
SWITCH D-LINK| DGS-1005G R

SLAG
06-01-2012, 09:21 PM
I got one of these off a guy on craigslist - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5684891&Sku=L48-2677

Stock firmware was a little wonky but since i put DDWRT on it its much more stable

pr_capone
06-01-2012, 09:31 PM
I got one of these off a guy on craigslist - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5684891&Sku=L48-2677

Stock firmware was a little wonky but since i put DDWRT on it its much more stable

DDWRT / Tomato is farking sweet

Guru
06-01-2012, 09:58 PM
I assume putting DDWRT or Tomato on my Netgear N300 wouldn't make any difference?

pr_capone
06-01-2012, 09:59 PM
I assume putting DDWRT or Tomato on my Netgear N300 wouldn't make any difference?

The N300 isn't DDWRT compatible.

Guru
06-01-2012, 10:01 PM
The N300 isn't DDWRT compatible.

WNR3500L is the model. It is supported. N300 is just the name.

pr_capone
06-01-2012, 10:02 PM
WNR3500L is the model. It is supported. N300 is just the name.

my bad meng... def throw it on there.

Guru
06-01-2012, 10:51 PM
my bad meng... def throw it on there.

crap. Version 2 of this router is not supported.