PDA

View Full Version : Home and Auto Calling all electricians


acesn8s
08-25-2012, 06:46 AM
I have a house that needs electrical repair. The previous owner did some do-it-yourself wiring that needs fixed. After the house was foreclosed some of his handy work was cut out for safety sake.

The known wires missing are to the dryer, water heater, and range hood as these lines were dropped from the ceiling. I am assuming the line to the stove is missing as well since it comes up from underneath. The outlet boxes are not flush with the wall is several rooms. Some exposed wires have been capped outside of the home (no clue as to what they were for).

Should I address the known issues and piecemeal the work with a wait and see approach or plan on a total rewiring? And what sort of costs am I looking at?

PRIEST
08-25-2012, 08:16 AM
You will have to hot it up check all switches & outlets that should let u know where u are at . The others if not sure where cut start over at panel pull new wire . Not hard just be careful

Dave Lane
08-25-2012, 08:16 AM
If any electricians show up that are looking for work in the Mound City area PM me.

Get a price for each issue and and completely re-wire that circuit. If jack legs did the work replace before you burn the house down.

acesn8s
08-25-2012, 08:27 AM
You will have to hot it up check all switches & outlets that should let u know where u are at . The others if not sure where cut start over at panel pull new wire . Not hard just be carefulI won't do it myself. I don't trust me. I am just looking to budget in the electrical work.

PRIEST
08-25-2012, 08:32 AM
I won't do it myself. I don't trust me. I am just looking to budget in the electrical work.


Lol anywhere from $400 - $1000

Dave Lane
08-25-2012, 08:34 AM
Lol anywhere from $400 - $1000

Per circuit depending on how far / difficult it is.

PRIEST
08-25-2012, 08:41 AM
Per circuit depending on how far / difficult it is.

Yes sir

Baconeater
08-25-2012, 09:13 AM
Yeah, it's hard to estimate cost without seeing how difficult it's going to be. If the panel is in an unfinished basement and everything is accessible it won't be too bad. If it's all in areas that are finished, prepare to get bent over.

The outlet boxes not being flush is scary, those things are nailed to the studs and once the drywall is up there's no easy way to fix that.

Boise_Chief
08-25-2012, 09:42 AM
where are you at? All of it can be fixed pretty easily but it can get expensive. Do you have room to get below the house or above the ceiling? Pm if you want to talk via phone?

acesn8s
08-25-2012, 11:09 AM
where are you at? All of it can be fixed pretty easily but it can get expensive. Do you have room to get below the house or above the ceiling? Pm if you want to talk via phone?Above the ceiling is easy enough but below the floor may be a bit cramped. The breaker box is located in a bedroom that replaced a garage. The meter to the box is directly on the other side of the wall from the box. The attic seems roomy (for an attic). That is where the furnace is located as well. Looks to be 5 years old or so. As far as I tell from peeking through the attic entrance it is still wired.

Baconeater
08-25-2012, 11:41 AM
I hope you got a good deal on this place.

Fish
08-25-2012, 11:48 AM
It's fine. The lights still work. Don't worry about it....

http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/8015/rtkudfhjmghmgj.jpg

http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/5236/34905459.jpg

cabletech94
08-25-2012, 12:53 PM
It's fine. The lights still work. Don't worry about it....

http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/8015/rtkudfhjmghmgj.jpg

http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/5236/34905459.jpg

i was in a rental house like this the other day.:banghead:

mikeyis4dcats.
08-25-2012, 02:06 PM
FYI it is not uncommon for 220v outlets to be face mounted.

acesn8s
08-25-2012, 11:55 PM
FYI it is not uncommon for 220v outlets to be face mounted.We can see the lines and where there cut. They were dropped straight down from the ceiling then mounted to the wall.

acesn8s
08-26-2012, 12:00 AM
I hope you got a good deal on this place.I think so. There is an outlet out in the garden. I think the switch is on a post near the house with no lines going to it. I am wondering if the capped lines on the side of the house originally went to the switch. :shrug: The dry ground has exposed an underground wire leading to who knows where.