PDA

View Full Version : Life My 2-year old son just diagnosed with Asthma...

Mr_Tomahawk
09-03-2012, 01:27 PM
...I think.

Nobody in my immediate family has asthma, so I am new to this sort of lifestyle.

Last week my 2 year old son was dealing with what seemed to be terrible allergies...something EVERYONE in my family deals with this time of the year.

My wife and I just kept him indoors and kept an eye on him...all seemed good.

Thursday I head to work and my wife stays home with him. She texts me throughout the day saying how she thinks the allergies may have developed into some sort of sinus infection as it has moved into his chest. She says he is coughing alot more and running a temperature etc...

I come home from work and my wife (who was up with him the night before) are both sitting on the couch and look exhausted, my son looked like he was hit by a train. Right away I noticed he had laboured breathing. We immediatley take him to Childrens Mercy where they run their test and hook him up to oxygen as his blood-oxygen levels were a little low. We end up staying the night so they can monitor him.

We are discharged the next day around noon and he is doing much better. We have a couple of inhalers now...

[What is already a] long story short...

The doctors at the ER said he had developed Bronchiolitis which is a lower resperiatory infection caused by a virus. Symptoms include a slight fever, coughing, sneezing and in more serious cases, trouble breathing.

The doctor said given his history, it sounds like the asthmatic episode was triggered by the bronchiolitis...

We are going to our pediatrician tomorrow for a follow-up to he how he is doing and then we are going to see our asthma/allergist Dr. to figure out if allergies played a roll in triggering the asthma attack or if it was strickly the bronchiolitis virus.

My question;