PDA

View Full Version : U.S. Issues Presidential second terms

Ebolapox
10-06-2012, 01:44 PM
I'm by no means an expert, nor am I a historian that can speak fully on this issue--I only bring it up because I was talking with my wife earlier on now I've noticed that no president in my lifetime has had a second term anything short of shitty/mediocre. They're always looking after their legacy and they can't be held accountable due to the fact that they'll never have to seek re-election ever again.

The question is this--would it be a horrible thing if we made the presidency a one-term only job? you know, four years and you're gone REGARDLESS (that is, unless there's an assassination--if you serve two years of the previous president's term, you can run for re-election)? there are obviously logical pitfalls, but I'd like an honest, open discourse on this... I just don't trust any politician these days with a second term.

Thoughts?

Kyle DeLexus
10-07-2012, 02:16 AM
The negatives you mentioned would just show up immediately instead of 4 years later.

nstygma
10-07-2012, 02:25 AM
The negatives you mentioned would just show up immediately instead of 4 years later.maybe term limits should be removed altogether?

patteeu
10-07-2012, 12:29 PM
The logical error I observe is that your premise is that many Presidents who no longer have to face the voters have poor results so you want to make it so that every President is serving one of these terms from day one. I don't get your theory.

patteeu
10-07-2012, 12:30 PM
The negatives you mentioned would just show up immediately instead of 4 years later.

You said it much better than I did.

HolyHandgernade
10-07-2012, 12:36 PM
I think term limits should be eliminated entirely. If someone is doing that good of a job to deserve repeated re-election, so be it.

KChiefer
10-07-2012, 02:50 PM
How in the hell is anyone going to get to a 3rd term in today's environment?

People going apeshit over Obama.