PDA

View Full Version : Technical question about this BB


ColoradoChief
08-22-2000, 07:44 PM
For you webheads out there, I couldn't pull the chiefsplanet.com website today at work. I assumed it was just down but I see other people have posted throughout the day. I tried numerous times and just got the "page not available" message. Does anyone know if possibly there's something about this site that's not compatable with Windows NT? To my knowledge I have never had that problem with any other site.

Thanks in advance for comments.

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 07:53 PM
This is the first I've heard of a problem like this.
Hmmmmm....
No probs with NT did you type http://www.chiefsplanet.com
or just
ChiefsPlanet.com

I would try both. Also, do you have a proxy setup at work?

If the problem persists, I'll be in tomorrow morning and you can email me at KyleT@kw.com.
I'm out doing training sessions in the afternoon... so I may not be able to really adress this issue until Thursday. If you email me I can email a link back to you and we can see if you can access the server that the BBS is on...if you can't then there is something VERY wierd going on.

-Kyle

ColoradoChief
08-22-2000, 08:03 PM
Thanks Kyle for the response. As far as I know I typed www.chiefsplanet.com. (http://www.chiefsplanet.com.) I can try it both ways.

I have to plead ignorance here about a "proxy setup." (I know just enough about web to fool some people, but not myself.) http://www.ChiefsPlanet.com/ubb/wink.gif

The way I understand our setup at work, we are on an internal network that is continuously hooked to the Internet. In other words, each individual computer is not hooked up by modem to the net, but rather we're plugged into our network which is turn plugged into the web via a local ISP.

mlyonsd
08-22-2000, 08:12 PM
I have the same problem at work using IE. I have tried both chiefsplanet.com and www.chiefsplanet.com. (http://www.chiefsplanet.com.) Also, using Netscape I can view the site but can't post.

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 08:18 PM
Try to get to 216.98.132.242 if you can get to this ip address than you are hitting my server. I'll check it out a little further... but if I continue to have "strange" problems like this than I'm going to upgrade to a new server next weekend.

Thanks,
Kyle

chiefsfan58
08-22-2000, 09:17 PM
Kyle: For what it's worth, I have trouble about 20% of the time as well. It comes up showing "0 content"

~But well worth it when I do get in~

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 09:18 PM
I'm a network engineer and helped run a large ISP for a while. Anything I can do to help?

------------------
Parker

[i]It is no coincidence that fascism is often referred to as a "reactionary movement".</I>

mlyonsd
08-22-2000, 09:40 PM
I tried the IP address at work earlier today and I had no luck with that either...

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 10:00 PM
Parker,

I appreciate it...I may take you up on that if I don't get a solution real soon.

I really think that most of my problems are related to the server that I'm on. If I don't find a solution, I'll look into new servers tomorrow night.

Don't worry though, I also own ChiefsCentral.com so I'll probably use it as a test site to get the BBS up and running again before I redirect the URL. (So no down time)

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 10:10 PM
Kyle,

Don't do that...the performance on this server is awesome, and I don't think their problems are related to your site.

The fact that they can't get to the IP address or the name leads me to believe that
1) they are having trouble with their firewall and/or proxy or
2) the ISP they are coming through is experiencing route flap or path congestion.

I did some traceroutes to the site from various internet looking glasses and found this:

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Helvetica, verdana, ariel">quote:</font><HR>traceroute to www.chiefsplanet.com (http://www.chiefsplanet.com) (216.98.132.242), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 passepartout.web.us.uu.net (208.240.88.1) 0.595 ms 0.517 ms 0.523 ms
2 Hssi10-0-0.GW1.DCA.ALTER.NET (157.130.33.221) 1.876 ms 1.421 ms 1.498 ms
3 522.at-2-0-0.XR1.DCA1.ALTER.NET (152.63.37.70) 1.562 ms 1.381 ms 1.399 ms
4 195.at-1-0-0.TR1.DCA6.ALTER.NET (152.63.33.206) 4.137 ms 4.047 ms 3.984 ms
5 121.at-5-0-0.TR1.NYC9.ALTER.NET (152.63.2.126) 9.457 ms 9.716 ms 9.292 ms
6 287.at-1-0-0.XR1.NYC9.ALTER.NET (152.63.20.125) 10.654 ms 10.859 ms 12.428 ms
7 181.ATM6-0.BR2.NYC9.ALTER.NET (152.63.22.225) 10.964 ms 10.911 ms 11.049 ms
8 137.39.52.10 (137.39.52.10) 11.159 ms 11.049 ms 11.185 ms
9 so-6-0-0.mp2.NewYork1.level3.net (209.247.10.45) 11.562 ms 11.761 ms 23.611 ms
10 loopback1.hsipaccess1.SanDiego1.Level3.net (209.244.2.4) 77.511 ms 77.399 ms 77.482 ms
11 209.0.228.22 (209.0.228.22) 77.297 ms 77.458 ms 77.651 ms
12 242.132.98.216.reverse.cari.net (216.98.132.242) 78.163 ms 77.756 ms 77.829 ms<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Helvetica, verdana, ariel">quote:</font><HR>Tracing the route to www.chiefsplanet.com (http://www.chiefsplanet.com) (216.98.132.242)

1 iad1-core4-pos1-0.atlas.icix.net (165.117.52.186) 4 msec 0 msec 0 msec
2 dca1-core13-posX-X.atlas.icix.net (165.117.52.205) 4 msec 0 msec
dca1-core13-pos1-2.atlas.icix.net (165.117.53.33) 4 msec
3 dca1-core12-pos6-0.atlas.icix.net (165.117.48.205) 0 msec 4 msec 0 msec
4 serial3-0-4.core1.washington1.level3.net (209.244.219.161) 4 msec 4 msec 4 msec
5 so-5-0-0.mp2.Washington1.level3.net (209.247.10.73) [AS 3356] 4 msec 4 msec 0 msec
6 loopback1.hsipaccess1.SanDiego1.Level3.net (209.244.2.4) [AS 3356] 76 msec 76 msec 80 msec
7 209.0.228.22 [AS 3356] 76 msec 76 msec 80 msec
8 www.chiefsplanet.com (http://www.chiefsplanet.com) (216.98.132.242) [AS 10439] 76 msec 80 msec 76 msec<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The upstream ISP appears to be Level3, and it appears they're pretty well connected. I would point to the user end right now. Response times to the site from the internet at large are excellent.


------------------
Parker

[i]It is no coincidence that fascism is often referred to as a "reactionary movement".</I>

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 10:12 PM
DaKCManAP:

What is your IP address that you are accessing from? That's gonna tell me alot, like if you're behind a firewall or proxy and how you get out to the internet. It's also going to tell me each and every ISP between you and the ChiefsPlanet server.

------------------
Parker

[i]It is no coincidence that fascism is often referred to as a "reactionary movement".</I>

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 10:15 PM
Parker,

My issue isn't with performance or the routing. (I agree I am VERY happy with the performance)
...but the Netscape issue is REALLY bothering me...AND I can replicate the problem here. I initially thought it was something in the scripts, but I moved them to a server here at my company and it was working fine.

Owell, I'll keep looking for the prob.

Don't worry though...I won't do ANYTHING rash. Ill only make a switch if that is the only option.

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 10:17 PM
BTW I really appreciate the help on this one.

Wow...a BBS that ACTUALLY is run by its users!

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 10:20 PM
That seems to me to be a software/OS issue. I noticed that you mentioned that this was a Linux box. I also noticed here the other day before you had the splash screen up on the index page that this is a Cobalt RaQ server. We used to use them and they have some problems. What kind of server did you move it to at work?

BTW...can I be an honorary moderator. http://www.ChiefsPlanet.com/ubb/wink.gif I was one of the first to post here, and as I've shown, I could help alot. http://www.ChiefsPlanet.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------
Parker

[i]It is no coincidence that fascism is often referred to as a "reactionary movement".</I>

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 10:31 PM
If this keeps up...You'll be an admin.

I moved it to a straight Linux box. Pentium 600, 512 megs etc....

I think you're right. I think the problem is with the Cobalt Raq. Unfortunately I develop eveything on REAL Linux boxes so I don't have much experience with these appliance doohickeys.

Hence my frustration.

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 10:34 PM
Thanks for the consideration, I'd like to help however I can. I promise I'll be nice. http://www.ChiefsPlanet.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

The Cobalt RaQ have alot of problems running CGI for some reason, and of course, that's what the whole BB is based on. A straight Linux box is obviously the answer, as you've already found out.

Is there any way your ISP will let you move away from the Cobalt? I might have some hosting options here if need be. Just let me know.

------------------
Parker

[i]It is no coincidence that fascism is often referred to as a "reactionary movement".</I>

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 11:01 PM
Kyle - Something someone mentioned on another topic....

How about a count on the threads? It would be much easier to converse if we can say "in post #yadda yadda yadda". Is this a possibility?

htimasqe- Can it be done?

AustinChief
08-22-2000, 11:02 PM
Check out Reply #84 on the "Welcome to the KC BB refugees" topic.

(I couldn't resist)

Yosef_Malkovitch
08-22-2000, 11:21 PM
disregard

[This message has been edited by KPhobia (edited 08-22-2000).]

Yosef_Malkovitch
08-22-2000, 11:52 PM
Kyle,

From Parker trying to help with the probs w/ daKCman....

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Helvetica, verdana, ariel">quote:</font><HR>
You're on AOL!!! Check out this trace and especially the major latency on that last hop.

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
traceroute to 172.169.70.129 (172.169.70.129), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 passepartout.web.us.uu.net (208.240.88.1) 0.777 ms 0.472 ms 0.419 ms
2 Hssi10-0-0.GW1.DCA.ALTER.NET (157.130.33.221) 1.495 ms 1.439 ms 1.402 ms
3 522.ATM3-0.XR2.DCA1.ALTER.NET (152.63.37.74) 1.678 ms 1.488 ms 1.398 ms
4 194.at-2-0-0.XR2.DCA6.ALTER.NET (152.63.33.38) 4.651 ms 3.782 ms 4.031 ms
5 194.ATM6-0.GW1.IAD1.ALTER.NET (146.188.161.93) 6.786 ms 6.801 ms 6.781 ms
6 pop1-rtc-P4-0.atdn.net (204.148.98.21) 6.941 ms 7.129 ms 7.134 ms
7 wc1-rtc-P1-0.atdn.net (204.148.103.26) 6.917 ms 7.224 ms 7.156 ms
8 tot2-r8-P0-0.aol.com (152.163.132.186) 7.383 ms 7.172 ms 7.143 ms
9 ipt-ba9.proxy.aol.com (152.163.213.245) 4.965 ms 5.523 ms 5.800 ms
10 ACA94681.ipt.aol.com (172.169.70.129) 350.292 ms 312.931 ms 336.111 ms
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also the presence of the word proxy might be a concern, since that means that you're being filtered through a server on your way to the internet.

------------------
Parker

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

mlyonsd
08-23-2000, 07:34 AM
Parker, yes I use AOL at home, and I can access the BB at home. It is at work where I experience problems. I can access the site using proxy and netscape, yet can't post and I can't bring the site up in IE.

CASHMAN
08-23-2000, 07:42 AM
?????????

CASHMAN
08-23-2000, 07:43 AM
Son of a buck.....

I couldn't log on at all yesterday. I was going through Netscape and I could read everything, just couldn't post anything.

So, I was reading this thread and thought ... OK, I'll try Internet Explorer.

I'll be damned.

AustinChief
08-23-2000, 10:45 AM
sorry guys, but it's become a simple fact of techies lives that they're going to have to give in and use Microsoft products once in a while. This is one of those occasions. If you want to be able to use this board, and 40% of the other websites out there, you better use a browser that can handle advanced ActiveX scripting. That browser is IE 5.01 with appropriate service packs.

------------------
Parker

[i]It is no coincidence that fascism is often referred to as a "reactionary movement".</I>

ColoradoChief
08-23-2000, 05:08 PM
Kyle,

An update on my problem (the one that started this thread LOL). I talked to our IT guy at work. He thinks the problem I'm having there is with our local ISP. He thinks their DNS is not connecting for some reason.

The good news is we're changing ISP's in the near future so hopefully I'll be able to log on and join the discussion during the day from time to time.

Thanks for your help.<BR>