DJ's left nut |
12-23-2011 12:32 PM |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amnorix
(Post 8230420)
I believe the answer is yes, but the only time I can remember seeing it called is on a field goal attempt, where a defensive player grabs a player (jersey or not isn't going to matter) to move him out of the way for another player to go in and block the attempt.
But, conceptually, you'd think it has to be a penalty right? Or else, say, a left defensive tackle could lunge to his left to grab the right OT and pull him out of the way of the left defensive end to go kill the QB. You never see that kind of play, so it must be illegal.
|
It is; defensive holding.
A few years ago it was a big deal for a few weeks. I don't recall the team, but there was a team out there doing exactly that. I'm wanting to say it was Carolina when they were bringing the zone-blitz back into vogue.
Yeah, totally against the rules for the D-lineman to grab an O-lineman like that.
Though if his question is whether or not a D-lineman can get called for holding for grabbing the jersey of the blocker that is engaging him as part of a pass-rush move or something, I don't really know. I've never seen it. The only time I've seen it called is when a D-lineman grabs a lineman other than the guy directly in front of him with an intent to clear him out for a fellow d-lineman. Or when they're trying to hold in a lineman on a screen pass or something.
|