ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Nzoner's Game Room (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Mizzou Basketball (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=255770)

DJ's left nut 02-05-2012 11:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KC_Connection (Post 8352569)
Dixon wasn't set at all, that's why he was leaning into Tyshawn in the first place. And no, you can't lean into a player with your body/arms as he's about to take a shot, that's a foul. And it's properly called in most situations without a raucous home environment.

If you establish position on a running shooter, yes, you are allowed to brace yourself for the hit. I'd say I can't believe that you're actually trying to argue that Dixon didn't beat Taylor to the spot...but of course I can believe you're arguing that. If you establish position, as Dixon did, the rules do not require that you stand there defenseless in order to draw a charge. You're allowed to brace and that brace can absolutely mean shifting your weight into a charging shooter.

It was absolutely a charge. As was Robinson throwing an elbow.

But keep seeing what you want to see.

The last word is yours - I'm sure you'll have something new and enlightening for us.

Saul Good 02-05-2012 11:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DJ's left nut (Post 8352609)
If you establish position on a running shooter, yes, you are allowed to brace yourself for the hit. I'd say I can't believe that you're actually trying to argue that Dixon didn't beat Taylor to the spot...but of course I can believe you're arguing that. If you establish position, as Dixon did, the rules do not require that you stand there defenseless in order to draw a charge. You're allowed to brace and that brace can absolutely mean shifting your weight into a charging shooter.

It was absolutely a charge. As was Robinson throwing an elbow.

But keep seeing what you want to see.

The last word is yours - I'm sure you'll have something new and enlightening for us.

He's an educator.

KC_Connection 02-05-2012 11:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DJ's left nut (Post 8352609)
If you establish position on a running shooter, yes, you are allowed to brace yourself for the hit. I'd say I can't believe that you're actually trying to argue that Dixon didn't beat Taylor to the spot...but of course I can believe you're arguing that.

That's because he didn't beat Taylor to the spot...not entirely. He was forced to lean into him at the last moment because he wasn't able to get that position (which, as I've mentioned, is normally called a foul in most situations and would have been had the game been played just about anywhere else).


Quote:

It was absolutely a charge. As was Robinson throwing an elbow.
Neither was anywhere close to a charge. The first was a flop (should have been a no-call) and the second was a clear defensive foul on Dixon.

Quote:

But keep seeing what you want to see.
You too.

KC_Connection 02-05-2012 11:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Saul Good (Post 8352618)
He's an educator.

I try.

Nzoner 02-06-2012 12:00 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Took this pic from my seat on Tiger Row Saturday night,wow what a view.

Saul Good 02-06-2012 07:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KC_Connection (Post 8352668)
That's because he didn't beat Taylor to the spot...not entirely. He was forced to lean into him at the last moment because he wasn't able to get that position (which, as I've mentioned, is normally called a foul in most situations and would have been had the game been played just about anywhere else).



Neither was anywhere close to a charge. The first was a flop (should have been a no-call) and the second was a clear defensive foul on Dixon.


You too.

Look where Taylor's front foot is. It's behind Dixon. Taylor went right through Dixon. He didn't lean forward to cheat into position. He braced himself because he was about to get trucked.

mnchiefsguy 02-06-2012 07:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Saul Good (Post 8352791)
Look where Taylor's front foot is. It's behind Dixon. Taylor went right through Dixon. He didn't lean forward to cheat into position. He braced himself because he was about to get trucked.

Dickie V. thought it was great, great, great defense. There may be dispute about the Robinson call, but only the beakers are complaining about the Taylor call.

mnchiefsguy 02-06-2012 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mnchiefsguy (Post 8352802)
Dickie V. thought it was great, great, great defense. There may be dispute about the Robinson call, but only the beakers are complaining about the Taylor call.

Of course, Dickie V. can also be full of it, but in this instance I think it is pretty clear that it was great defense. Only an absolute homer would think that is not a charge.

petegz28 02-06-2012 07:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Saul Good (Post 8352791)
Look where Taylor's front foot is. It's behind Dixon. Taylor went right through Dixon. He didn't lean forward to cheat into position. He braced himself because he was about to get trucked.

Even the Beakers on 810 this morning said the Taylor call was a clear charge.

petegz28 02-06-2012 07:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mnchiefsguy (Post 8352803)
Of course, Dickie V. can also be full of it, but in this instance I think it is pretty clear that it was great defense. Only an absolute homer would think that is not a charge.

Dickie V. says T-Rob charge was bad = Even Dickie V. said so

Dickie V. says Taylor charge was good = Dickie V. is full of it


LMAO...the KCC Defense

Imon Yourside 02-06-2012 07:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Saul Good (Post 8352791)
Look where Taylor's front foot is. It's behind Dixon. Taylor went right through Dixon. He didn't lean forward to cheat into position. He braced himself because he was about to get trucked.

I thought it was 50/50 with the hometown refs getting the benefit of the doubt, but looking at that still pic Dixon is leaning into Taylor which should always be a block.

petegz28 02-06-2012 07:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KILLER_CLOWN (Post 8352817)
I thought it was 50/50 with the hometown refs getting the benefit of the doubt, but looking at that still pic Dixon is leaning into Taylor which should always be a block.

That's a still...look at the actual play, not just one split-second of it ...it was a clear charge

Imon Yourside 02-06-2012 07:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by petegz28 (Post 8352823)
That's a still...look at the actual play, not just one split-second of it ...it was a clear charge

Bah, homers! Just FYI unless you have the name DUKE across your chest that doesn't pass for defense in the tournament, Just sayin'.

Dartgod 02-06-2012 08:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by petegz28 (Post 8352823)
That's a still...look at the actual play, not just one split-second of it ...it was a clear charge

Anyone have a gif of it? I'd like to see one on the foul that English got for being shoved to the ground as well.

duncan_idaho 02-06-2012 09:11 AM

Thoughts on the game:

1) I have a golden tongue. Speaking mongrel Spanish, I managed to convince the sports director of my resort in Mexico to open up the Dance Club early and play the game on the big screen.

2) How big of a bitch is Jeff Withey? He got shut down by a 6-5 shooting guard. He also has some pretty severe Tim Duncan syndrome, apparently (in that the first whistle that goes against him that he agrees with will be the first).

3) Have watched the replay on Taylor/Dixon MULTIPLE times. I have long hated the rule in college basketball player that allows a defender moving backwards to take a charge if they beat a ballhandler to the spot, but that's what happened there. It is not required to be set in the traditional completely motion-less, feet planted shoulder-width apart, vertical arms stance to draw a charge in that situation.

This is a great exhibition of that rule. Still shots in basketball are great for some things (was it a 3, did the ball get off, was someone out of bounds). They are not consistent when it comes to body-to-body contact of D-1 quick-twitch athletes. I don't care what the still of Dixon shows. Watch the replay. He moved diagonally, beating Taylor to the spot. Taylor then initiates contact with his forearm into the chest of the defender. That's pretty close to textbook definition of how a defender can draw a charge there.

4) Have watched the replay on Moore/Robinson multiple times. Don't want to hear anything about that charge call (though it was definitely a close call, it is not the awful call I thought it was when I first saw it). Moore beat Robinson to that spot, and Robinson initiated the contact.

Also, if you want to moan and complain about that call and watch the replay, you'll notice that Robinson violated the jump stop rule on that play (traveling well before the contact was initiated). He gathered the ball, took a skip, jump stopped (which really can be called a travel right there), landing on his LEFT foot first, and then used his RIGHT foot as his pivot foot. That's a travel. When jump stopping, if one foot lands before the other, that foot is the pivot foot.

5) Loved watching Taylor channel Christian Moody on the FTs, almost as watching Conor Teahan get abused by Marcus Denmon (which should remind Conor why he isn't allowed to 'woof' it on the basketball court).


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.