ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Media Center (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Music Need some guitar playing advice... (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=270253)

htismaqe 02-21-2013 04:43 PM

Need some guitar playing advice...

I've been playing for almost 30 years now and have never really developed any "chops". Some of it is a lack of ambition...well, most of it is a lack of ambition...and some of it is just a natural lack of manual dexterity (I think).

I'm kind of stuck in a rut and I want to learn how to really play lead guitar - I'm not talking about Yngwie Malmsteen/Marty Friedman/Joe Satriani shit, but I would like to learn to play lead well enough that I could play some Dio songs or whatever.

So for somebody with my background and 3 decades worth of bad habits, what's the quickest way to do it? Private lessons? Books? Youtube?

Easy 6 02-21-2013 05:14 PM

Do something i never had the patience to do, learn to read tab.

I always just wanted to do my own thing and pick up riffs by ear, and that works to an extent, but if you REALLY want to learn to play lead as quick as possible, i'd say tab.

Dayze 02-21-2013 05:14 PM

Dio (at least Holy Diver) can be played with power chords.

give it a go; same fingering possition just at different places on the neck. if you leaern the corresponding 'power chord' to your standard 1st position chords, you'll be surprised how quick you'll pick it up.

also , make sure the song isn't tuned down a 1/2 or full step or anything frfom your standard E tuning, other wise you'll drive yourself nuts (unless you plan on tuning your guitar down, which is easy)

I can't remember Holy Diver is tuned down.
ACDC is also great to play along with. primiarly your first position chords.

htismaqe 02-21-2013 05:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dayze (Post 9423648)
Dio (at least Holy Diver) can be played with power chords.