ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Nzoner's Game Room (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Football A story fit for Raiders week (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=239374)

kysirsoze 12-31-2010 05:25 AM

A story fit for Raiders week

I work as a concierge for a hotel in Hollywood. Tonight some guests were in the concierge lounge and I overheard them talking as I sat at my desk browsing CP. As they went on one of the guys mentioned he played in the last football game ever played in Metropolitan Stadium. This piqued my interest. Then he casually mentioned that it was when he was playing for the Kansas City Chiefs.*

Now, a lot of celebrities come through this hotel and I am practically never tempted to say anything. I find it generally embarrassing not to mention it could get me fired if the person in question wanted to be a dick about it. But when he said that, I all too bluntly busted in with, "You used to play for the Chiefs!?!" He looked over at me surprised and said, "Yes." I told him I was a huge Chiefs fan and he replied, "Well, I played there for two years, I'm really more of a Raider. I played there for nine."

He looked at me for a moment wondering what my response would be. I finally said, "Well for now I'm going to forget that last part. By the way, your drinks are on me. Raider or not, no former Chief pays for drinks in my lounge." Not a really charitable gesture in actuality since the booze wasn't mine to give, but he seemed grateful.