ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Nzoner's Game Room (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Life Do we have any OTR drivers here? (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=267935)

BigMeatballDave 12-22-2012 06:15 PM

Do we have any OTR drivers here?

I'm looking into getting my CDL.

There is a CDL training school just a few miles from me.

I've been a CNC Machinist for years and I'm sick of the lack of job security.

I'm 42 and I need something with solid job security.

I think R8ers drives for FedEx, right?

Bowser 12-22-2012 06:16 PM

What are you looking for, specifically? A road job that takes you all over the country, or just a city job where you're home every night?

BigMeatballDave 12-22-2012 06:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bowser (Post 9232929)
What are you looking for, specifically? A road job that takes you all over the country, or just a city job where you're home every night?

All over for a while to get the experience, and earn the most money.

Dayze 12-22-2012 06:20 PM

I considered it a while back and if I recall, all the good local jobs usually require 2yrs exp. from what I gathered , I would need to do OTR for 2 yrs before I could consider the local gigs.

Of course that's just my take. R8rs would have more accurate info I think.

Bowser 12-22-2012 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave (Post 9232938)
All over for a while to get the experience, and earn the most money.

To earn the most money it would depend on who you work for. If you're a n00b driver, they would most likely send you out as part of a team; one guys drives, the other sleeps, and so on and so on. DOT rules state that a driver can only stay in the seat for 11 hours at a time.