ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Media Center (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Computers Windows 7 Professional PC Issue, anybody help? (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=306892)

ROYC75 03-31-2017 06:39 PM

Windows 7 Professional PC Issue, anybody help?
 
OK, it started out as slowing down, ran the usual software, etc, minimal improvement, then all of a sudden after a reboot, BOOM! it opens in safe mode! I'm like, WTF? I can't get it to respond to normal startup. I can't use the repair tool in the safe haven since I do not know the password that it was set up on. Is there a way around that in order to let it fix itself ?

I noticed on one of the reboots it said something about the the last critical update. I did a system restore off of safe mode to the date we got the last critical update and nothing changed.

Any help would be a bonus, very short on funds and need to get to my normal screen to reach files and programs.

ROYC75 03-31-2017 07:06 PM

Damn, if I post 9 more times after this post, all within the next 40 minutes, I'll have 10 comments within an hour.


Not going to find an answer this way!

Pueblo Chieftan 03-31-2017 07:06 PM

This happened to me a few years back...ended up ordering a factory disc set slid it in and I was good-to-go. Think I spent $30.

ROYC75 03-31-2017 08:37 PM

Well, that helps me none, no money!

Fish 03-31-2017 09:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ROYC75 (Post 12805022)
I can't use the repair tool in the safe haven since I do not know the password that it was set up on. Is there a way around that in order to let it fix itself ?

Can you explain what you're talking about here?

ROYC75 03-31-2017 10:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fish (Post 12805186)
Can you explain what you're talking about here?

When you go to safe mode, it givens you multiple functions to use.

Windows Repair
Safe Mode
Safe Mode with working commands
Etc.
Etc.

When I click on Windows Repair, it ask for a password under the PC name..... I don't have it or have never known it.

Fish 03-31-2017 10:30 PM

I don't suppose you have your original Windows install disk? You need to reinstall Windows most likely. You could try something like Windows Diagnostic and Recovery Toolset to either resolve the bootup issue or reset the password. A Windows 10 install disk or flash drive would have that. Do you have any Windows install media around, or have another computer to download it and burn to DVD?

ROYC75 03-31-2017 10:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fish (Post 12805212)
I don't suppose you have your original Windows install disk? You need to reinstall Windows most likely. You could try something like Windows Diagnostic and Recovery Toolset to either resolve the bootup issue or reset the password. A Windows 10 install disk or flash drive would have that. Do you have any Windows install media around, or have another computer to download it and burn to DVD?

I do, but I was afraid I might lose some files? It doesn't have a repair to it, just an installation of the windows.

ROYC75 03-31-2017 10:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fish (Post 12805212)
I don't suppose you have your original Windows install disk? You need to reinstall Windows most likely. You could try something like Windows Diagnostic and Recovery Toolset to either resolve the bootup issue or reset the password. A Windows 10 install disk or flash drive would have that. Do you have any Windows install media around, or have another computer to download it and burn to DVD?

How do you reset the password, that was something I thought of, but couldn't find a way to do so.

ROYC75 03-31-2017 10:35 PM

10 years ago I didn't make a system recovery disk like I was told to do...... it's my fault.

Fish 03-31-2017 10:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ROYC75 (Post 12805214)
I do, but I was afraid I might lose some files? It doesn't have a repair to it, just an installation of the windows.

There are different ways to install Windows 7. It depends on the media type. But you can install Windows 7 on top of itself, without losing data or applications. Just make sure you're not doing the Clean Install option.

ROYC75 03-31-2017 10:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fish (Post 12805219)
There are different ways to install Windows 7. It depends on the media type. But you can install Windows 7 on top of itself, without losing data or applications. Just make sure you're not doing the Clean Install option.

Well, here goes, will be back when it's done.

Fish 03-31-2017 10:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ROYC75 (Post 12805215)
How do you reset the password, that was something I thought of, but couldn't find a way to do so.

You'd need Windows Diagnostic and Recovery Toolset. It's included on a Windows 10 install disk/flash drive. You can get the app on its own, but it's really hard to find anywhere unless you have a Microsoft Developer account.

ROYC75 03-31-2017 11:04 PM

Ok, on my phone now. I have two types of installation available.
1. Upgrade- To a newer version and keep your files, settings, and programs. Recomends backing up files first.
2. Custom - install a new copy of Windows. This option does not keep your files, settings, etc. The option to make changes to disks and partitions is available when you start your computer using the installation disc. We recommend backing up your own files first.

I want to use the first one? Correct?

ROYC75 03-31-2017 11:17 PM

Can't run this from safe mode, must be running normally.:cuss:

Plus how can I save files?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.