ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Media Center (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Universal Remotes (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=112915)

Cochise 03-25-2005 11:45 AM

Universal Remotes
 
This is kind of a complex question. I'm trying to get a universal remote that is capable of controlling all my stuff and can't seem to locate one.

Here is what I have:

Sony Television
Samsung DVD
Time Warner Cable box (Scientific Atlanta)
RCA receiver with the usual surround capabilities

So far, I've purchased two 'universal' remotes that say they are capable of controlling the reciever, but neither of them are able to. Tried all the codes in the book and looking for them on the internet but nothing works.

I've tried an RCA universal remote, and one of the "one for all" brand. The RCA one wouldn't even touch the RCA reciever :banghead: and the OFA remote would get it to switch sources but that's about it. No volume or surround adjustment controls.

So, before I had to have 4 remotes on hand to get all the functions of all these devices. Now I've spent $35 trying to consolidate them, and have 2 more.

So, anyone know of a brand or model that's going to work? Otherwise, I might have to see if I can open a trap shooting range with all these POS remotes lying around :banghead:

Donger 03-25-2005 11:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cochise
This is kind of a complex question. I'm trying to get a universal remote that is capable of controlling all my stuff and can't seem to locate one.

Here is what I have:

Sony Television
Samsung DVD
Time Warner Cable box (Scientific Atlanta)
RCA receiver with the usual surround capabilities

So far, I've purchased two 'universal' remotes that say they are capable of controlling the reciever, but neither of them are able to. Tried all the codes in the book and looking for them on the internet but nothing works.

I've tried an RCA universal remote, and one of the "one for all" brand. The RCA one wouldn't even touch the RCA reciever :banghead: and the OFA remote would get it to switch sources but that's about it. No volume or surround adjustment controls.

So, before I had to have 4 remotes on hand to get all the functions of all these devices. Now I've spent $35 trying to consolidate them, and have 2 more.

So, anyone know of a brand or model that's going to work? Otherwise, I might have to see if I can open a trap shooting range with all these POS remotes lying around :banghead:

Bummer. I guess I got lucky.

I have Dish Network, and their remote allows control of my A/V receiver, DVD player and VCR, along with the satellite receiver of course.

Mind you, it doesn't give total control of the devices; just the basic functions.

Good thing too. The wife would go completely nuts if more than one remote was needed.

Cochise 03-25-2005 12:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Donger
Bummer. I guess I got lucky.

I have Dish Network, and their remote allows control of my A/V receiver, DVD player and VCR, along with the satellite receiver of course.

Mind you, it doesn't give total control of the devices; just the basic functions.

Good thing too. The wife would go completely nuts if more than one remote was needed.

One of the universals almost works. It does everything but the receiver, and it will turn the receiver on and off or change sources. But you can't do anything else, which means the way I have this mess wired up right now I have to just use the TV speakers or get up to change the volume.

Maybe it was pie in the sky, but I was dreaming of a $10 remote that would control everything like the packaging says.

htismaqe 03-25-2005 01:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cochise
One of the universals almost works. It does everything but the receiver, and it will turn the receiver on and off or change sources. But you can't do anything else, which means the way I have this mess wired up right now I have to just use the TV speakers or get up to change the volume.

Maybe it was pie in the sky, but I was dreaming of a $10 remote that would control everything like the packaging says.

I'm in the same boat.

I switched from DirecTV to cable a while back and the Motorola remote that came with the cable box controls everything just fine, except my Sony receiver.

The remote will change channels, volume, and even inputs on the TV. But it won't change input/output on the receiver.

ENDelt260 03-25-2005 05:22 PM

I have one word for all of you: Harmony.

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/pr...s/en,CRID=2078

My buddy has one, and it's awesome. It even controls his TiVo. You hook it up to your USB port, and d/l the codes for all your devices from the web. If you poke around on Logitech's site, I'm guessing you could find a full list of supported devices to verify yours are on there before dropping the change on it.

Donger 03-25-2005 05:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ENDelt260
I have one word for all of you: Harmony.

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/pr...s/en,CRID=2078

My buddy has one, and it's awesome. It even controls his TiVo. You hook it up to your USB port, and d/l the codes for all your devices from the web. If you poke around on Logitech's site, I'm guessing you could find a full list of supported devices to verify yours are on there before dropping the change on it.

Jeezus. For $250, it better blow-on-demand too.

ENDelt260 03-25-2005 05:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Donger
Jeezus. For $250, it better blow-on-demand too.

I think you might have to wait for the next model for that.

Saulbadguy 03-25-2005 06:12 PM

Some of them can control your thermostat, too.

KCWolfman 03-26-2005 12:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ENDelt260
I have one word for all of you: Harmony.

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/pr...s/en,CRID=2078

My buddy has one, and it's awesome. It even controls his TiVo. You hook it up to your USB port, and d/l the codes for all your devices from the web. If you poke around on Logitech's site, I'm guessing you could find a full list of supported devices to verify yours are on there before dropping the change on it.

That crap is expensive.

Get an RCA learning remote for only 25.00. It takes about 20 minutes to program. You just point each remote at the learning remote and click the button you want the learning remote to save. Click the assigned key on the learning remote, and bingo.

KCWolfman 03-26-2005 02:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCWolfman
That crap is expensive.

Get an RCA learning remote for only 25.00. It takes about 20 minutes to program. You just point each remote at the learning remote and click the button you want the learning remote to save. Click the assigned key on the learning remote, and bingo.

Overstock.com has them on sale right now for 18.99

http://images.overstock.com/f/102/31...ts/L924242.jpg

Lzen 03-26-2005 09:11 AM

Heh, stupid MUron can't even program his own remote. :p

Phobia 03-26-2005 10:00 AM

We have one of those expensive Sony remotes. They're in the $200 range, but I didn't spend that. My wife used it for about a year and it has now been collecting dust for 3 or 4. Kinda pathetic, huh?

BigMeatballDave 03-26-2005 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCWolfman
Overstock.com has them on sale right now for 18.99

http://images.overstock.com/f/102/31...ts/L924242.jpg

My universal is just like that, except for the color. Also, It won't/can't program my Samsung Tivo...

StcChief 03-26-2005 02:53 PM

http://www.harmonyremote.com/

About $150 internet programmable. Configures everthing for you. Stores settings in online database downloads it to the remove.

This thing does it all.

A friend of mine has one. Coolest remove ever.

Now bought by logitech.

ENDelt260 03-26-2005 02:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nm_dbf
http://www.harmonyremote.com/

About $150 internet programmable. Configures everthing for you. Stores settings in online database downloads it to the remove.

This thing does it all.

A friend of mine has one. Coolest remove ever.

Now bought by logitech.

I wish I would've posted that.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.