ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Nzoner's Game Room (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Tony Gonzalez's Value (https://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=149934)

jspchief 10-15-2006 07:57 PM

Tony Gonzalez's Value

Gonzo is up for a contract at the end of 2006. After watching him the last few years, I wonder what his value really is to this team. He seems to lack the playmaking ability he once had. Yea, he's still one of the best TEs in the game. But he's no longer a substitute for a WR like he has been for us over the years. He's not particularly fast, he doesn't break a lot of tackles, and to be honest he doesn't have the greatest hands anymore. He's not some nightmare for defensive coordinators any longer.

I'm just beginning to wonder how much he's really worth to this team. In the past he was a guy you could rely on when other facets of our offense struggled. Now he's just another piece that only seems to work when everything else is working.

If Gonzo comes looking for a contract that puts him in the top 5 of the pay scale for TEs, is he still worth it?

JBucc 10-15-2006 08:00 PM

No. If he wants Vernon Davis, Antonio Gates money let him walk. If he wants money for what he is, an aging TE past his prime he can stay as long as he wants.

2112 10-15-2006 08:01 PM

That is a very good question..

I would trade him for A)Immediate needs to get the Chiefs over the top right now.or B)For draft picks and think about the future

Gonzo is built for an attacking passing offense..something the Chiefs are going away from right now

Hammock Parties 10-15-2006 08:01 PM

Absolutely not. I've come to accept that harsh fact. They better not break the bank on him.

Hammock Parties 10-15-2006 08:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bill parcells
Gonzo is built for an attacking passing offense..w