ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Media Center (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Electronics Landline Alternatives (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=279703)

Dartgod 12-18-2013 07:42 PM

Landline Alternatives
 
I really want to get rid of our landline altogether, but cell service in my house isn't always reliable. I need to have something in place for emergencies. However, I'm currently paying over $40 per month for my phone service with UVerse.

So I'm looking into alternatives such as Magic Jack, Vonage or Ooma.

Anyone have any experience with any of these? I'd like to keep my existing number, so Magic Jack is likely out.

I don't know a soul who has used any of these, so I'm really clueless and want to make sure I'm not dropping any coin on something I'll regret.

Thanks in advance...

EDIT: I see now that it is possible to move your existing number to Magic Jack. I'm most interested in this one now if that's the case.

Miles 12-18-2013 10:02 PM

Depending on your cell provider you might look into a microcell/network extender to resolve your spotty cell phone reception in your house and ditch the landline.

jiveturkey 12-19-2013 08:03 AM

Ooma - end thread!

srvy 12-20-2013 06:32 PM

OBI costs nothing except for equipment. I had Ooma for 3 years till the box died it was ok but you paid taxs. OBI is same you use your own phone equipment and internet connection. You cam port you number.

http://www.obihai.com/

http://www.amazon.com/OBi110-Service.../dp/B0045RMEPI

Donger 12-20-2013 06:36 PM

I have NetTalk Duo and love it. I think they transfer numbers. However, make sure your upstream bandwidth is 1 Mbps or better otherwise the wife will go bat shit crazy.

htismaqe 12-20-2013 06:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Miles (Post 10292456)
Depending on your cell provider you might look into a microcell/network extender to resolve your spotty cell phone reception in your house and ditch the landline.

It's nice to have a landline of some sort for e911 purposes.

htismaqe 12-20-2013 06:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Donger (Post 10297643)
I have NetTalk Duo and love it. I think they transfer numbers. However, make sure your upstream bandwidth is 1 Mbps or better otherwise the wife will go bat shit crazy.

QFT

Donger 12-20-2013 06:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by htismaqe (Post 10297658)
QFT

OMG, THIS NEW PHONE THING SUCKS MONKEY ASSHOLES!!! I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU GOT RID OF QWEST FOR THIS POS!!! I THOUGHT YOU WERE TECHNICAL AND STUFF!?

* Donger ditches QWEST DSL with 768 up to Comcast *

HEY, IT'S SOOOO MUCH BETTER NOW! I GUESS THEY FIXED SOMETHING OR SOMETHING?

htismaqe 12-20-2013 06:52 PM

I've run VoIP on a 768K connection but you have to know how to setup your router otherwise it's going to shit the bed.

For most people, it's infinitely easier to just say "get plenty of upstream bandwidth".

Donger 12-20-2013 06:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by htismaqe (Post 10297684)
I've run VoIP on a 768K connection but you have to know how to setup your router otherwise it's going to shit the bed.

For most people, it's infinitely easier to just say "get plenty of upstream bandwidth".

I had the VOIP MAC set to take what it needed through QoS, but it wasn't enough apparently.

htismaqe 12-20-2013 07:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Donger (Post 10297700)
I had the VOIP MAC set to take what it needed through QoS, but it wasn't enough apparently.

Well, on a small pipe, you can run into fragmentation issues at layer 2. Technically to run VoIP well over a smaller connection, you have to split the frames up and interleave them into the other data so that stuff goes out in a predictable manner.

Dartgod 12-21-2013 11:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Donger (Post 10297643)
I have NetTalk Duo and love it. I think they transfer numbers. However, make sure your upstream bandwidth is 1 Mbps or better otherwise the wife will go bat shit crazy.

So this is good enough, right?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/3179718404.png

DaFace 12-21-2013 11:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dartgod (Post 10298618)
So this is good enough, right?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/3179718404.png

As long as you don't have a ton of other stuff eating up your bandwidth while you're making calls (torrents, etc.), you'll be in good shape.

As for the original question, my parents have had Vonage for about 5 years. There's a very slight delay (which will be the case with most VOIP providers), but aside from that, it's been great. They even reversed it into their existing phone wiring, so all the phones in the house connect to it.

Only caveat with any of these is that they won't work if the power's out. Not a huge deal, but be aware of it.

Donger 12-21-2013 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by htismaqe (Post 10297716)
Well, on a small pipe, you can run into fragmentation issues at layer 2. Technically to run VoIP well over a smaller connection, you have to split the frames up and interleave them into the other data so that stuff goes out in a predictable manner.

Don't get all OSI'y on me, geek.

srvy 12-21-2013 12:55 PM

I will add most these VOIP dont have 911 unless you go thru a 3rd party at about 3 bucks a month. OBITalk does not but they link you to a few sites that provide the service. I use my OBITALK with google voice works great. I get about what u get bandwidth wise with Uverse. I have not had one issue my kids are on xbox or netflix wife on laptop im on tablet. Lots stuff craming up the internet yet haven't had the issues some are bringing up.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.