ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Media Center (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Electronics any wireless router recommendations? (http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=284163)

KC Jones 06-06-2014 12:42 PM

any wireless router recommendations?
 
My netgear r6300 is out of warranty and has recently been very flaky. Wireless clients are losing internet regularly and a few times I had to reflash the firmware after it was corrupted. I love the functionality of it and overall speed, but if I spend another $200 for the same model and it gets flaky after 1.5 years I'll be pissed.

my desired features:
  • bandwidth & throughput: Household of 4 that streams HD video and plays online games simultaneously. We have PCs, laptops, ipads, ipods, smartphones, etc. on the home network. I'm paying for Comcast's highest speed tier (oh please google fiber come to Denver!)
  • access to change settings & read detailed logs:I've found numerous problems after reviewing security logs and I do like being able to configure various network settings.
  • OpenDNS Need to be able to use this to keep the kids from finding magazines in the woods.
  • scheduling: I like the ability to have the kids devices unavailable for network access throughout the night. Best yet if I can set different schedules for different devices.
  • lan ports: Got 3 devices I like to have wired instead of wireless.

Detoxing 06-06-2014 12:51 PM

Wireless routers are so hit and miss. I use to use a $30 unit and i would be able to play at around 25-30MS, but it would drop the signal more frequently than i'd like. I upgraded to some $175 router with all the bells and whistles. Now i play it at 75-80MS but it rarely drops the signal.

So weird.

jiveturkey 06-06-2014 01:44 PM

Current wifi technology sucks balls!!!!

I tried a couple of different routers and settled on....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's OK but the signal strength is what's pissing me off. I decided to just use a powerline option to get a signal to my main floor. I also run a 75' cable to my PS4 now.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The other router that I tried was this one....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Signal strength wasn't nearly as good.

**** WIFI!!!!

htismaqe 06-06-2014 01:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jiveturkey (Post 10674772)
Current wifi technology sucks balls!!!!

I tried a couple of different routers and settled on....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's OK but the signal strength is what's pissing me off. I decided to just use a powerline option to get a signal to my main floor. I also run a 75' cable to my PS4 now.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The other router that I tried was this one....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Signal strength wasn't nearly as good.

**** WIFI!!!!

N600 really isn't "current" wifi technology. I bought my first N600 router in 2010.

htismaqe 06-06-2014 01:56 PM

KC Jones,

If you're interested in bleeding edge performance, you can read my reviews of various AC1900 routers here: http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=283889

Be warned, none of them are particularly stable with stock firmware.

If you want detailed logs, you may want to look at the Netgear R7000 with DD-WRT.

Just Passin' By 06-06-2014 02:01 PM

Great question. I'd love to know the opinion on this for someone who uses multiple OSs (Windows, Mac and Linux) of differing versions.

jiveturkey 06-06-2014 02:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by htismaqe (Post 10674788)
KC Jones,

If you're interested in bleeding edge performance, you can read my reviews of various AC1900 routers here: http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=283889

Be warned, none of them are particularly stable with stock firmware.

If you want detailed logs, you may want to look at the Netgear R7000 with DD-WRT.

Do you have any suggestions that are stable with stock firmware?

Pablo 06-06-2014 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by htismaqe (Post 10674788)
KC Jones,

If you're interested in bleeding edge performance, you can read my reviews of various AC1900 routers here: http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=283889

Be warned, none of them are particularly stable with stock firmware.

If you want detailed logs, you may want to look at the Netgear R7000 with DD-WRT.

Thanks. I'm getting sick of the piece of shit I have and will purchasing a new router within the next month.

KC Jones 06-07-2014 04:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by htismaqe (Post 10674788)
KC Jones,

If you're interested in bleeding edge performance, you can read my reviews of various AC1900 routers here: http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=283889

Be warned, none of them are particularly stable with stock firmware.

If you want detailed logs, you may want to look at the Netgear R7000 with DD-WRT.

Thanks. Looks like DD-WRT doesn't support client access scheduling. Now that I've had that (and been able to prevent my teen & pre-teen from staying up all night on the net), I really don't want to lose it.

unlurking 06-07-2014 07:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KC Jones (Post 10675896)
Thanks. Looks like DD-WRT doesn't support client access scheduling. Now that I've had that (and been able to prevent my teen & pre-teen from staying up all night on the net), I really don't want to lose it.

Yes it does. Access Restrictions tab. You can create up to 10 different policies blocking by URL, keyword in the URL, service/app, or blocking WAN access completely. Standard date/time/MAC/IP configuration. It is actually very robust.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php...s_Restrictions

htismaqe 06-07-2014 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jiveturkey (Post 10674825)
Do you have any suggestions that are stable with stock firmware?

Not in the AC1900 tier. None of them are perfectly stable with stock firmware.

The RMerlin 3rd party firmware for the AC68U is built off of Asus stock firmware so it has the same look and feel but it isn't stock firmware by any means. It's pretty stable.

On my Linksys WRT1900AC, it's rock solid stable unless I need to change a setting. Doing stuff in the GUI causes it to reboot on occasion but if you leave it alone, it runs just fine.

htismaqe 06-07-2014 10:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KC Jones (Post 10675896)
Thanks. Looks like DD-WRT doesn't support client access scheduling. Now that I've had that (and been able to prevent my teen & pre-teen from staying up all night on the net), I really don't want to lose it.

As unlurking mentioned, it DD-WRT supports client scheduling and a whole lot more. Very configurable.

KC Jones 06-07-2014 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by unlurking (Post 10675963)
Yes it does. Access Restrictions tab. You can create up to 10 different policies blocking by URL, keyword in the URL, service/app, or blocking WAN access completely. Standard date/time/MAC/IP configuration. It is actually very robust.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php...s_Restrictions

Awesome! - I spent over an hour pouring through documentation and searching the wiki and could not find it. Must be like when I'm holding my sunglasses and yelling at my kids to see if they have seen them.

jiveturkey 06-09-2014 09:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by htismaqe (Post 10676138)
Not in the AC1900 tier. None of them are perfectly stable with stock firmware.

The RMerlin 3rd party firmware for the AC68U is built off of Asus stock firmware so it has the same look and feel but it isn't stock firmware by any means. It's pretty stable.

On my Linksys WRT1900AC, it's rock solid stable unless I need to change a setting. Doing stuff in the GUI causes it to reboot on occasion but if you leave it alone, it runs just fine.

Thanks

I don't typically mess with them. I set them up and run them until I buy a new one. Range and throughput is all I'm concerned about.

htismaqe 06-10-2014 09:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jiveturkey (Post 10679743)
Thanks

I don't typically mess with them. I set them up and run them until I buy a new one. Range and throughput is all I'm concerned about.

If that's the case, I'd probably recommend the Linksys WRT1900AC. I really like it outside of the problems with the GUI. I'm now at 9 days stable without accessing the GUI which is 4 times longer than what I could normally get with the R7000.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.