Originally Posted by ReynardMuldrake
This is bullshit. It just deleted my online character. Now I have to replay the entire tutorial.
I've lost a character as well. From what I've read, sometimes your character isn't actually gone, sometimes it just takes a little while to reappear after their cloud has been down for a while. One way to check if your character is till out there when you don't see it in-game is to check your Social Club page.
What normally happens is people think their character is gone so they start a new one and overwrite their old character. I think that is what I did because when I started my new character it had $30,000 at level 1, and that's the same amount of money my old character had before I "lost it".