Originally Posted by Donger
I know. Perhaps I should have been clearer: USADA can't, by itself, strip Armstrong of his TDF victories. UCI can.
This is correct, but its a formality at this point. The UCI has only two options: accept the USADA findings and impose the mandated punishment, or take the USADA to the world court of arbitration for sport. If it went there (unlikely), Armstrong has almost zero chance.
Armstrong is giving up because he knows that the USADA has him absolutely dead to rights now, and he's made the calculation that he'd rather travel the path of the angry martyr for the few who still believe him for some odd reason, rather than endure the public humiliation of this arbitration hearing.